We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, good price, a bit loud” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Monte Vista to your Saves list
Hotel Monte Vista
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 N. San Francisco St., Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Convenient location, good price, a bit loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Hotel Monte Vista for one night while traveling from Phoenix to the Grand Canyon.

The room (407) was pretty spacious and included a king-sized bed (but only 2 relatively small pillows). The bathroom was pretty small, and had the tiniest shower I've ever seen. The room was loud. Even though we were on the 4th floor, we could easily hear people talking on the street, and cars driving by. (It seems like the room could use new windows, but maybe there is a historic reason why they have not been replaced.)

The room is very convenient to the restaurants, bars and breweries in Flagstaff. The room prices are very reasonable.

There is limited parking available behind the building.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    105
    56
    42
    70
See reviews for
35
127
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There was a raging party in the room next to us last night. No one did anything about it. The lobby and the restraunt and bar are lovely. The room needs new flooring, curtains, pillows, and bedding. The shower is tiny and you can hear your neighbors using the bathroom and ever word of their conversation. If the staff was not so discourteous, some of these flaws could be overlooked. I would suggest staying somewhere clean and walk to downtown. The room was filthy and the pillows were worn out about 10 years ago. Skip it. Not worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our son booked us a room at the Monte Vista because we needed a break. We sure were happy he did. We were on the second floor with a bar right below our room. He was worried that it was going to be too noisy for us, but we did not hear a thing even though it was a Friday night in a college town. We stayed in the Zane Gray room and liked it very much. I fell in love with the extra deep soaking tub in this room. Our room was clean and in order. We did not have to ask for anything. In fact, we are going to make it a point to try and stay in every room. It was a treat to walk the halls and see all the famous people who have stayed there in the past. From the Jack Daniels Room to Air Supply's Room, there seems to be a room for every taste. The ghost stories were an added bonus. Yes, even though we live close enough to not really need to get a room, we will be back! The staff are friendly, on the ball and very informative.

Room Tip: Ask for the listing of famous person rooms!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Enjoyed our stay. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Bear, in the cocktail bar made our 5 year old, the biggest, best Shirley Temple ever. Christopher, from housekeeping, shared several fun ghost stories and let us see a number of rooms. It was also great to stay in a historic hotel right downtown.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johns, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014 via mobile

The Monte vista is a very popular haunted hotel. We stayed in the john Wayne room. Outstanding! If you take the stairs you might see other "former guests" from years gone by. The location is perfect for anything you might want. The staff is great. The front desk personell will go out of there way to make sure you are well taken care of. The bar downstairs is so comfortable and accommodating. Too bad TripAdvisor only has 5 stars for rating. Its a fun place and yes its old but so nostalgic. I won't go into detail on the rooms but take your choice there all great

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Lorenzo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I decided to go to Flagstaff for the first time for my husbands birthday. We didn't book a hotel ahead of time, we thought we would just drive up to Flagstaff and find a place. We weren't very impressed with Flagstaff until we found this really cool old hotel. It's right in the middle of old downtown next to tons of shops, restaurants and bars, we didn't have to drive anywhere, we could just walk. Our first impression of the hotel when we walked in, we loved the classic old look. Our room was tiny but it was so cozy. It's definitely an old building so don't expect up to date rooms and bathrooms, but for how old it is we thought it was well taken care of. The bed was really comfortable too, so soft. It had a homey feel to the rooms instead of like a normal hotel. Felt like a room at my grandparents home. The staff was really nice and we liked it had a coffee shop and bar connected to the hotel. The hotel was also cutely decorated for Christmas. We would say this hotel is definitely worth the money. It was one of the cheapest hotels and nicer then most places we've ever stay at.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

We had a Two Queen Room Suite, w/ connecting bath, dramatically decorated in red. The room and bath were clean. The bed ok. Wifi worked well. Friendly staff.

The hotel has a great location. Flagstaff has great shops and restaurants to wondering around within walking distance. We came here after hiking the grand canyon and were too tired to check out the bar :-) but it looked fun and we would definitely go for a drink if we stayed here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monte Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Vista

Address: 100 N. San Francisco St., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hotel Monte Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monte Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.