We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's an OLD hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monte Vista to your Saves list
Hotel Monte Vista
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 N. San Francisco St., Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“It's an OLD hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have to start by saying that the staff was GREAT!! I had an immediate issue with a locking window right when I checked in and two people walked up with me immediately and took care of it (I was not slamming it hard enough). Great location!!!! You are right in the middle of the historic downtown with access to many restaurants and bars (the bar downstairs serves GREAT coffee in the morning). Having said that, this is a really OLD hotel and you should really keep that in mind. The bed was a little too firm for us but clean. The sink was in the room with the shower and toilet separate. The shower head was face the corner of the shower and would not move, so it made it really difficult to take a shower. You would be staying here for nostalgic reasons and location, if you want comfort with modern amenities you may want to think twice.

Room Tip: The lower the floor, the closer you are to the noise as there is bar downstairs and a restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    101
    55
    42
    69
See reviews for
34
126
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

The location is perfect for shops, restaurants and bars, but the hotel feels very dated and even a bit dirty. It has character but the rooms are very dark and weren't very comfortable. We stayed in other old hotels throughout AZ, but they at least updated the rooms a bit or provided power strips to plug in two phone or hooks to hang jackets or towels on. Probably not worth the stay for the price.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We reserved a room at this place anticipating an elegant "from another time" feel, which it very much was not. However, The rooms were nice, and the bar downstairs seemed very popular with a live band.

Room Tip: If it matters to you, the rooms are named after the celebrities who have stayed in them, so you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The only things redeeming about this hotel are location and the Rendezvous Bar. Otherwise, go somewhere else. The rooms are VERY worn down and dated, the bathrooms very small, the towels even tinier, I asked for an extra towel or two at the front desk and the surly front desk clerk would only give me one extra towel. There is some off street parking for the hotel, but I am sure that during the busy season there would never be a space available. I would NEVER stay here again, but I will return to the Rendezvous Lounge!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

They Don't clean their rooms and the staff is extremely rude!!! The cleaning staff asks for tips but leave used condoms by your bed. We told the manager and they never bothered to refund the $140 per night or even apologize for that matter. Stay at the Weatherford!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Monte Vista markets itself to stupid people by claiming to be haunted, but the hotel is only haunted by what it could be if the owners put minimal effort into upkeep. The historic brick exterior hides a tremendous dump, and the horribleness of this hotel cannot be covered up by the fact that the indoor plumbing had to be retrofitted into tiny, now-mildewy closets. You must choose between shivering at night and listening to the death rattles of their ancient, filthy baseboard heaters. Good luck finding a dresser that does not have something broken. Enjoy the tiny towels in the even tinier bathroom. Experience the joy of endlessly circling downtown Flagstaff looking for a place to park for the night. This place might be acceptable on an hourly rate or maybe at truck stop motel rates, but they charge a fortune to stay in this dump. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited the Monte Vista this summer. The location is great. It was exactly where we needed to be--close to NAU and walking distance in downtown. We had a suite, which was small but clean and worked well for our needs (parents and an adult child). The staff is very friendly. Parking is iffy--there is no specific hotel lot so we would up parking on the street a couple of times. The hotel has a very art deco vibe, which appeals to us, but it is not big on amenities. It's also expensive but I feel like we were paying for the location as much as anything. Overall, we would stay there again because we like the classic feel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monte Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Vista

Address: 100 N. San Francisco St., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monte Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monte Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.