We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the center of town with Lee Marvin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monte Vista to your Saves list
Hotel Monte Vista
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 N. San Francisco St., Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In the center of town with Lee Marvin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Location! Location! Location! Right on the corner of San Francisco and Aspen. You can walk the town and browse the shops and once your feet are aching, no need to drive back to your hotel, just step inside to Hotel Monte Vista's cafe/bar. Lively atmoshere, and floor to ceiling glass windows on two corner walls - great for people watching with a nice hot Eggnog/Chai/Whiskey concoction. We had a large room (Lee Marvin) with queen bed - very comfortable, but brown. Brown furniture, brown bedcover, brown cushions. Hotel staff was friendly. Besides the cafe/bar there is a lounge/pool room. Not too many people there on
X-Mas eve. Great Thai restaurant, not part of the hotel, but can access restaurant from hotel.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is an interesting place to stay. It is by no means new. The rooms are small, and not much has been done to update the hotel from its historical nature -- which I think is on purpose. Some rooms are larger depending upon how much you want to spend. But this place has class and interest. The famous people that have stayed here and still stay here makes this a unique place. It is centrally located and has a funky and lively restaurant (plus bar/pool hall) in it. The beds were comfortable, bathrooms very small (but private), and the service was excellent. This is a hotel for young people or people looking for an interesting adventure. It has a lot of history if you like that, but don't come here with the expectation that this is a Holiday Inn or Hilton. It is a historical hotel in a small AZ town and lives up to its name.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobuck1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Was tired of the same old Super 8/Motel 6 so we took a chance on the Monte Vista. Loved it, tons of character, neat and clean. Great lively lower level bar, in fact it was voted best "dive bar". We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulVincentOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My boyfriend & I drove to the Hotel Monte Vista to stay the night to do a little paranormal investigating, which is a hobby of ours, in celebration of his birthday.

We arrived at the hotel and went up to our room...the door had been left open.

The bathroom was uncomfortably tiny with a toilet and standing shower, but the sink in the bedroom area. (At least we had a bathroom!)

There was really nothing to do in the town besides go to a bar and drink & listen to music.

The hotel & town was really played up on the websites and by the staff when you talk to them as being really haunted, but there were no type of ghost tour or anything. The hotel did have a photocopied paper with ghost sightings listed on it that they handed us when we checked in. But then I got yelled at by the bouncer for taking pictures of the bar. How are you gonna tell people how haunted your hotel is and then not let them take photos to catch any ghosts?

The hotel itself had a band playing until early morning and then closed down so you couldn't explore the "haunted" areas near the bar/pool tables. The rude desk agent even told us they closed the lobby after 1am, so we didn't feel like we could even go into the lobby and sit.

We ended up just going to bed at like 11pm...but couldn't sleep until about 4am because the noise from downstairs and outside was so loud that it sounded like it was coming from inside the room. Not to mention the uncomfortable bed.

There were names on many of the doors, in some sort of cheesy attempt to make it feel like celebrities loved to stay there.

We had no sort of ghostly encounters, which we have at places said to be much less haunted in their history.

Overall very disappointed with the hotel and the town. The trip wasn't cheap either.

Only good thing was a couple of the staff were friendly & the restaurant had vegetarian options for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puppetgirldotnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I absolutely loved our stay at the Monte V! I've read several reviews claiming the place is an old dump...Old, yes. A dump?? Give me a break!!! If you want to stay at a modern, Best Western type of place, completely VOID of character then the Monte Vista is not for you. We loved our room, we loved the smell of the old wood, we loved the antique furnishings, we loved the bar/lounge, and we loved the staff (the girl at the Front desk was an absolute doll) and we can not wait to come back. Our room was spotless, comfortable, warm, and quiet. The location is perfect, being right in the heart of historic downtown Flag, tons to do, great restaurants/cafes, everything in walking distance. Thanks for a great weekend getaway!

Room Tip: We had a corner room so the view was excellent and it was totally quiet. We stayed in 406.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

OK. Our room was named for Michael Stipe and R.E.M. That's great to start. This is an old downtown hotel with not one, but two bars. Good restaurants nearby. Room was comfortable and quiet. Staff was helpul. Enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hotel is block from the Amtrak station, so you hear the trains but was convenient for us because we got in late on the train and started overnight to get a rental car the next day.

Did not stay late enough to eat breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
1.7 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.5 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#17 of 64 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 64 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 786 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
4.1 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Vista

Address: 100 N. San Francisco St., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Monte Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing