We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unhonored parking ticket” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Monte Vista to your Saves list
Hotel Monte Vista
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 N. San Francisco St., Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Aliso Viejo, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“unhonored parking ticket”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Sean, the manager of Hotel Monte Vista, not only would not credit me for a parking ticket which I incurred because of the ineptitude of Sara, a newly hired hotel clerk (she gave me a parking voucher that was only good for two hours and never told me I had to park in their parking lot for any longer stays), but also would not even talk to me on the phone to explain why nor reply to my email (yeah, probably because he knew he was morally and ethically wrong for not crediting my bill for the $33 ticket). BAD, BAD CUSTOMER RELATIONS!!!! Thanks to BofA's credit department for giving me credit for it because I am a long-standing good customer!

Room Tip: Don't give them cash!!!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    107
    57
    42
    72
See reviews for
36
128
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have stayed at the Monte Vista several times while in Flagstaff. It is a funny, quirky place which we have enjoyed but can understand other visitors not being as easily entertained as we are. The Rendezvous Bar, located on the first floor corner of the hotel and looking out at the stores in the old part of Flagstaff, is a beauty! " A coffee bar by day and a martini bar by night" pretty much describes it. Something for everyone. Great views, good traffic, good service and a great martini ( Bombay Safire on the rocks, very dry, a lemon twist). What is not to enjoy. When we were in Flagstaff this past week for one night, we didn't stay at the Monte Vista but did make time to spend an hour in the Rendezvous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Planned a day trip and got snowed in. This was the only choice I had being that the blizzard made it impossible to drive. The woman at the desk was so nice and hospitable, and got me their ''Betty White Room''(cali. King bed, 4 big windows, large space considering the turn of the century layout). Very enjoyable stay despite the situation. In the heart of old flagstaff, great thai restaurant two buildings down, and a cute cafe and fun arcade with a bar and pool tables adjacent to the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The room had a great view, it had charming decor and I slept very well. The bathroom was small but charming. The service was nice, and they even lent us a cork screw from the bar to open wine we bought down the street.

We had a good stay. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms where famous people have stayed seem better than the others. We were happy in our corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My rating is based on a single night in this historic setting, which is all I recommend, but I do recommend that travelers to Flagstaff avail themselves of the opportunity to step back in time for a night in a bare clean cowboy room that is more than adequate. The patient young lady at the front desk was particularly helpful in suggesting places for me to get whatever I needed or wanted and she took her time, drew maps for me, and was most polite. While other reviewers have complained about noise, I did not find any and I stayed on a Saturday night, sleeping soundly without any interruption. If live music was being offered downstairs, then it never infiltrated my room and trains are a non-issue despite my sensitive hearing. It's a fun place to stay for a night downtown and a step back in time to a simpler life.

Room Tip: Rooms vary according to history. Inquire before booking to enhance your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utrecht
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Ok it's old the painting and the furniture But we like old hotels. Its in the middle of downtown. We slept in the 'Freddy mercury ' room on the 4 th floor in a corner room with an extra window. So yes it was far away from the first floor and the saloon. Ok the bathroom was small. But the room was clean. All the people that complain should go to one of the chain hotels with no character at all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend arrived Flagstaff today , and we loved it right away!

The downtown area is fantastisk with great restaurants and of course the Monte Vista hotel! It was perfect for our stay , and a good price for staying downtown:)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monte Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Vista

Address: 100 N. San Francisco St., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Monte Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monte Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.