We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rendezvous Bar at the Monte Vista a winner!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monte Vista to your Saves list
Hotel Monte Vista
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 N. San Francisco St., Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rendezvous Bar at the Monte Vista a winner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have stayed at the Monte Vista several times while in Flagstaff. It is a funny, quirky place which we have enjoyed but can understand other visitors not being as easily entertained as we are. The Rendezvous Bar, located on the first floor corner of the hotel and looking out at the stores in the old part of Flagstaff, is a beauty! " A coffee bar by day and a martini bar by night" pretty much describes it. Something for everyone. Great views, good traffic, good service and a great martini ( Bombay Safire on the rocks, very dry, a lemon twist). What is not to enjoy. When we were in Flagstaff this past week for one night, we didn't stay at the Monte Vista but did make time to spend an hour in the Rendezvous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Planned a day trip and got snowed in. This was the only choice I had being that the blizzard made it impossible to drive. The woman at the desk was so nice and hospitable, and got me their ''Betty White Room''(cali. King bed, 4 big windows, large space considering the turn of the century layout). Very enjoyable stay despite the situation. In the heart of old flagstaff, great thai restaurant two buildings down, and a cute cafe and fun arcade with a bar and pool tables adjacent to the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KT1091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The room had a great view, it had charming decor and I slept very well. The bathroom was small but charming. The service was nice, and they even lent us a cork screw from the bar to open wine we bought down the street.

We had a good stay. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms where famous people have stayed seem better than the others. We were happy in our corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StartsnendswA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My rating is based on a single night in this historic setting, which is all I recommend, but I do recommend that travelers to Flagstaff avail themselves of the opportunity to step back in time for a night in a bare clean cowboy room that is more than adequate. The patient young lady at the front desk was particularly helpful in suggesting places for me to get whatever I needed or wanted and she took her time, drew maps for me, and was most polite. While other reviewers have complained about noise, I did not find any and I stayed on a Saturday night, sleeping soundly without any interruption. If live music was being offered downstairs, then it never infiltrated my room and trains are a non-issue despite my sensitive hearing. It's a fun place to stay for a night downtown and a step back in time to a simpler life.

Room Tip: Rooms vary according to history. Inquire before booking to enhance your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utrecht
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Ok it's old the painting and the furniture But we like old hotels. Its in the middle of downtown. We slept in the 'Freddy mercury ' room on the 4 th floor in a corner room with an extra window. So yes it was far away from the first floor and the saloon. Ok the bathroom was small. But the room was clean. All the people that complain should go to one of the chain hotels with no character at all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luzUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Me and my boyfriend arrived Flagstaff today , and we loved it right away!

The downtown area is fantastisk with great restaurants and of course the Monte Vista hotel! It was perfect for our stay , and a good price for staying downtown:)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogini82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The best thing about this hotel was the location, right in downtown, with free parking. The rooms and decor were dated, with carpets needing renewing. The rooms could have been cleaner, as the carpets had crumbs on still. No breakfast included, so a little on the expensive side. Stayed 2 nights in August, so we could see more of Flagstaff, a great little town, but if we ever went back we'd find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David499564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
1.7 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.5 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#17 of 64 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 64 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 787 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
4.1 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Vista

Address: 100 N. San Francisco St., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Monte Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing