We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome old school hotel with tons of character and location, location, location,,,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Vista

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monte Vista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Monte Vista
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 N. San Francisco St., Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
east bay, california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“awesome old school hotel with tons of character and location, location, location,,,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

okay.. if your looking for Hyatt clean rooms with modern amenities, look elsewhere.. But if your looking to stay right in the mix of downtown Flagstaff, in a cool old hotel with tons of history and character galore, this place is awesome!!!! Cute bar downstairs, excellent falafel across the street, tons of stuff at stumbling distance... fabulous! staying again next month!!!!

Room Tip: loads of character... Debbie Reynolds room is soooooo pink....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    95
    47
    39
    65
See reviews for
31
115
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tucson
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011 via mobile

Staff is terrible, completely rude, owner is worse! Only stay here if you want your luugage stolen, love filing police reports, and being treated sub human by the OWNER when you ask where your luggage was that was once in your room.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

My husband loved the Monte Vista - he likes the cold. I was shivering in the bed. Room was of good size and location is great ... walked 3 blocks up to Brix for a GREAT dinner, right off Route 66, etc.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fecls1
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

went there for our daughters graduation from NAU. I felt like i was in a chinese restaurant. Our room as called the "Presidential Suite" 2 bedrooms and a bath. Painted red, black and gold, with chinese dragons on the wall. hideous. for what I paid i should have stayed at the Holiday Inn. Very poor. Loud. No Elevator. No congenial people, etc.

Room Tip: dont look to the Monte Vista
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011 via mobile

Running on it's "famous" past, rooms very outdated, loud, in short too high priced for what you get

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Partner and I were doing the 'route 66' experience and this iconic hotel was to be our expensive treat along the way. Room was approximately $100 for the night, smaller than my airing cupboard at home, painted claustophobic dark red and blue and not even a kettle in the room. If you had rolled over in bed, you would have fallen out of the window it was that cramped.
Reception staff unhelpful but did upgrade us to a better/bigger room after our complaints - at an extra charge of another $40.
The whole place is tired, smelt mouldy and needed a good clean.
The bargain motels we stayed at along the route for $40 per night were better value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

A terrible place to stay, I tried to spend locally and it cost me $1100 in Auto Repair. Beside the Hotel is old and has not been remodeled in some time. A fight broke out in THEIR Hotel Run Dive Bar, the bouncers moved it to the parking lot where hotel guest park, instead of calling police, the fight continued and they slammed the guy into my new 2011 vehicle putting 2 large dents in my vehicle. All of this was caught on THEIR servailance camera if found out after contacting Flagstaff Police and they went and investigated (but could not do anything because on Private property). I contacted the front desk in the morning and got a total run around. Finally the front desk clerk gave me the managers cell phone and when i called the manager and told him who I was, he said "How did you get my number". The manger would not do anything about, didn't even feel bad. He said "that is what you have insurance for, why should i have to use mine" After many times of contacting the hotel for assistance in the matter they would not do a thing! Terrible Customer Service!! They wouldn't even pay for my deductable for damage directly cause by their customer and caught on camera. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monte Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Vista

Address: 100 N. San Francisco St., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Vista 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Monte Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monte Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.