We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Definitely Be Back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starlight Pines B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Starlight Pines B&B to your Saves list
Starlight Pines B&B
3380 E. Lockett Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Flagstaff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will Definitely Be Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Made a weekend getaway from the hot valley(s) of Tucson (and Phoenix) to the cooler pines of Flagstaff -- lucky for us, the B&B where we've stayed before was booked and we decided to try out Starlight Pines instead.

Gracious and welcoming host, Richard, made us feel right at home immediately. The rooms have just the right amount of period pieces -- it's a relatively new property (built in the 1990s) with decor and architecture more in tune with the 1890s.

Breakfasts were scrumptious and filling, keeping us energized all day without having to interrupt our busy schedule. (We really liked the smiley fruit faces that greeted us Sunday morning.)

Helpful hosts with lots of local knowledge kept us right on track. Interesting fellow guests to meet and greet over breakfast -- lots of shared experiences.

While it isn't in the center of town, and there is a little bit of train whistle noise, it's not in the least bit obnoxious -- and after all, Flagstaff isn't THAT big -- we weren't more than five to ten minutes away from whatever we wanted to do.

Thanks for a wonderful weekend getaway!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starlightpinesbb, Owner at Starlight Pines B&B, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Hello! It was great to meet you and your partner in crime, lol.... Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review too! We do try so very hard to offer the right amount of portions for breakfast...(thanks for sharing a recipe too!) I do sincerely hope to host you two again! Until then, take care! Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    5
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
14
95
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

What an awesome place! My new bride and I made this lovely B & B our choice to honeymoon in and we weren't disappointed. Richard and Michael were the most wonderful hosts. The food was tasty and drinking coffee on the porch in morning was perfect. They have a lovely little dog named Taz. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms, spotless and very romantic. I have stayed in two other Bed and Breakfasts in Flagtaff and they don't compare. If you plan a trip to Flagsaff, don't miss it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was our first experience in the US with a B & B. Our first experience with a B&B in Flagstaff. It was wonderful. Intimate in the sense of relaxing, conversing, sharing time and space with other travelers on life's journey in the cool pines of Arizona. They accommodations and the delightfully filling breakfast's were the artistic presentation of our Host Richard. Thank you Richard for making our weekend in Flagstaff to enjoy our Navajo Native Culture wonderful. We will return.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Peacock room. Two very comfortable beds for two independent travelers. Windows that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burtrum, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have stayed at Starlight Pines B&B several times since 2005 and there is a reason I am a repeat guest: This B&B has all the charm, comfort, and hospitality anyone could ask for. The property sits in what I consider an ideal location, tucked in the quietness of the pines but still conveniently close enough to downtown and other areas of Flagstaff.

Inn keepers Richard and Michael go above and beyond to make each guest feel welcomed and at home while visiting Flagstaff. They are very knowledgeable about Flagstaff and surrounding areas, everything from sight seeing to cuisine. Plus, they make the most elegant breakfasts I've ever experienced at a B&B!

The rooms in this B&B are beautifully decorated. My favorites are the Dragonfly during winter stays since it is the only bedroom with a fireplace (there is another fireplace in the main room downstairs as well) and the Lily during summer stays since it has its own private balcony and lovely views of Elden Mountain!





It should be noted that while there IS a train that runs relatively close to this property, its horns have been silenced for when it goes through downtown Flagstaff, so there is no issue with train noise.

Room Tip: The Dragonfly room is the only room with a private wood burning fireplace..perfect for cold nights i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starlightpinesbb, Owner at Starlight Pines B&B, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you thank thank you! We always enjoy your visits! Just now wish you were closer so that you could visit more often - as you know...I can be a talk-a-holic - the Italian that I am, I love our conversations, even if I do Richardisms at times...LOL Until next time - Richard & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Noise from the train, pretentious owners, no air conditioning or ceiling fans, small breakfast portions, limited parking, and high prices do not make someone feel welcome. It's not even close to downtown. No thanks! There are too many better choices.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a modern (built in 1996) Victorian house with 5 rooms, each with its own decor. It has modern conveniences not found in true Victorian places, such as Wi-Fi and lots of outlets. It has high ceilings, great atmosphere, a full-span front porch with swing, a huge supply of period books, a history of Flagstaff, and three very friendly watchpups - though two of them are 15 years old, so hurry or you might miss them. There is so much to do you won't miss the TV. And the breakfasts are elegant - very special.

Room Tip: Go to their web site to see room pix: http://www.starlightpinesbb.com/
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed two nights at the Starlight Pines in Flagstaff AZ and had a wonderful time. The accomodations were excellent, our hosts were delightful and the interaction with other guests was priceless. This was our first time staying at a B&B, and we're glad that we chose Starlight Pines - Will certainly be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.2 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn - Flagstaff
3.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#8 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Pines B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Pines B&B

Address: 3380 E. Lockett Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starlight Pines B/B in Flagstaff is a top ten B/B in the State of Arizona. Lily Room has private balcony with magnificent view of Mt Elden! Dragonfly has wood-burning fireplace! All rooms have Tiffany lamps and private baths. Folks use our B/B as a home base to see the Grand Canyon, Sedona and many other area attractions within a 2 hour ride! Plan 3 days in Flagstaff to see everything there is to see in Northern Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Starlight Pines B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlight Pines B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.