We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wupatki National Monument

Wupatki National Monument
6400 N. Highway 89, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
928-679-2365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 44 attractions in Flagstaff
Type: National Parks, Historic Sites, Monuments/ Statues, Volcanos
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Explore this fascinating ancient pueblo, located near the San Francisco Peaks, which once housed almost 100 members of the Anasazi and Sinagua tribes.
Julian, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Well preserved example of Chaco era out lying community. Evidence of both Chaco and Hohokam influence. Precursing residence of Hopi before inhabiting mesas. Other surrounding ruins...Citadel, Lomaki, and Woloki all very interesting. Expansive views of the San Fransisco peaks to the Painted Desert.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    153
    26
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth your time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had some free time and were not very sure about what to do. We read about Wupatki National Monument and decided to go check it out. I am so glad we did it! It is very interesting. Not very big, we probably stayed there for a little over an hour. You can walk around the ruins (make sure you grab a map so you can have a better idea about what is what). Such a beautiful area! Very desolate and wild. It sure was an amazing experience and I highly recommend it. It was very hot when I was there, make sure you carry water with you.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern U.S.
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Amazing views and experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The approach to Wupatki quickens the pulse. The area is beautiful, though desolate. We arrived on a weekday and had the place to ourselves. You can enter the ruins, see a view for miles and miles and miles, and almost smell the same wilderness that the original inhabitants called home.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

It's a nice and educational experience. Not really a hike experience if that is what you are looking for.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, Ca
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
133 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Several lonely ruins out on the plain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Well worth the drive which should be done with Sunset Craters National Monument. You can spend a nice leisurely day seeing both of these.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wupatki National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Wupatki National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wupatki National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wupatki National Monument to your Saves list