We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little local history and great views!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walnut Canyon National Monument

Walnut Canyon National Monument
Walnut Canyon Rd #3, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
+1 928 526 3367
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 79 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See millions of years of history unraveled in the geology of the rocks at this popular scenic and historic hiking area, once populated by the Sinagua Indians.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little local history and great views!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

If your looking for a place with some history and charm, great views and a little bit of exercise, this is a must see STOP. Not far out of Flagstaff, easy to get to and well worth the time! I was there recently with my better half on her business trip, so I went there to take pictures, and then I went back for a little bit of cardio exercise the next day. Your Entrance fee is good for like 6 days.
Don't miss it if in the area!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    233
    31
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“With the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Little known fact- this is most preserved cliff dwelling of Native Americans in southwest more so than Mesa Verde, Colorado. It is not as large. You are able to walk into some of the rooms for a better feel of the dwelling. I would not recommend for the elderly who have difficulty walking. There are many stairs. Definitely a great place for kids to get their junior ranger badge. Very friendly park service. My grandkids love to see this when they visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Beautiful views and history around every corner. Make sure you are in shape to walk around the viewing area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable and educational hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We spent a great half day trekking down the trail. Good fun for the kids, youngest 8, really enjoyed the Junior Ranger programme, older 13 and 14 (too cool for school), helped her all the way! Friendly volunteer Bill, happy to explain and educate. Junior Ranger badge awarded with humour by Brian. Close to Flagstaff and great views, whole family enjoyed as much as a visit to Grand Canyon the day before.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Island Trail Worth The Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Besides the museum, you have your choice to walk the Rim trail or the Island trail. We chose the Island trail to venture down to see the cliff dwellings up close. It's almost a mile round trip with 240 steps going 180' up/down. But just take your time and you'll be fine. It was interesting to be right next to and touch the dwellings. Mostly just the walls left. They recommend bringing water on the trail but it was February - mid-70's so we didn't. The whole trail took us about 45 mins although they estimated an hour. We really enjoyed the trip.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walnut Canyon National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Walnut Canyon National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walnut Canyon National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.