We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love steps? Go it's worth it!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walnut Canyon National Monument

Walnut Canyon National Monument
Walnut Canyon Rd #3, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
+1 928 526 3367
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 34 Attractions in Flagstaff
Type: Historic Sites, Monuments/ Statues, Canyons, National Parks, Landmarks
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See millions of years of history unraveled in the geology of the rocks at this popular scenic and historic hiking area, once populated by the Sinagua Indians.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
South Branch, Michigan
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Love steps? Go it's worth it!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Yet another really worthwhile attraction just outside of Flagstaff. As you descend the steps you will think about the trip back up. You will be descending back in tine a you go down. The ruins are worthwhile, but what strikes you is how impossibly difficult daily life must have been for these people. Imagine having to climb this canyon without steps, perhaps multiple times a day, going up or down for water, or food or to tend their crops. Sure makes our lives seem soft.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    206
    30
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Amazing walk down the canyon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

It is amazing to see how these people lived such positive lives in apparently hard times.

The views from the walk ways were amazing. Thank heavens for the hand rails which meant that I could manage to walk all the way down.

It was fantastic.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well worth our time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Couldn't have been better conditions...clear, temp in the mid-hi 60's, very few people. Lots of steps (240) down...and back up...to the cliff dwellings you can view and enter, but lots of level walking and frequent resting places. The trail was under some resconstruction so we couldn't go all around the island trail, but that didn't detract from the experience. Scenery was great. The more we looked at the canyon wall, the more dwellings we spotted.

Nice view from the rim trail, but take the island trail if you can. I'd visit this place again.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must see in Flagstaff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The canyon has actual cave dwellings where the native people lived 1000 years ago. I recommend the guided tours they have throughout the summer. The hike is good for most members of the family, we noticed some older people struggling up the stairs on the way out of the canyon. There are also fantastic views. You can easily make this a full day trip or combine it with the Meteor Crater and end the day at the Lowell Observatory.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Neat, Nice Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Walnut Canyon National Monument is very close to the city of Flagstaff and well worth the time if you have an hour to spare.

Once you get into the visitor center and pay the $5 admission per person, you are welcomed to do a trail on "the island" in Walnut Canyon.

The trail is quite lovely, takes about 45 minutes roundtrip, though has a lot of stairs. During the trail you see the canyon, cliff dwellings across the canyon, and cliff dwellings right along the trail. You are allowed to enter some of these dwellings which are pretty cool. After you see the dwellings on the trail you turn around (part of the loop was closed for winter for maintenance) you get to go back up the stairs that you came down from. They are not the easiest stairs, but not extremely difficult (though we did see a family of parents and 2 teenagers struggling and complaining on our way back). They really weren't that bad and don't let the stairs be the reason you don't want to visit!

Lastly, the ranger at the counter was extremely nice. While my group went to the bathroom we had a brief conversation with me about the area and what to expect.

Be aware that no one is allowed to enter the trail after 4pm (they close to 5). The doors to the trail are locked (one-way) at 4 on the dot. The parking lot closes at 5.

Also, it was the first week of December when we went and it was quite cold. There was a lot of fog on the drive over and there was snow throughout the trail.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walnut Canyon National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Walnut Canyon National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walnut Canyon National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.