We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearby to Flagstaff and so interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walnut Canyon National Monument

Walnut Canyon National Monument
Walnut Canyon Rd #3, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
+1 928 526 3367
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 34 Attractions in Flagstaff
Type: Historic Sites, Monuments/ Statues, Canyons, National Parks, Landmarks
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See millions of years of history unraveled in the geology of the rocks at this popular scenic and historic hiking area, once populated by the Sinagua Indians.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
“Nearby to Flagstaff and so interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

A quick side trip off I-40 and well worth the visit. In January part of the trail was closed for repairs, but we got a great view of the cliff dwellings (and only had to go down 200 steps) anyhow. As always, the National Park Service does an excellent job-the visitor center displays were very helplful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    206
    30
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“One of many Sianagua pueblos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

There is a small visitor center, with a few displays and a 20 minute video. A steep trail (maybe 150 stairs?) allows you to view cliff dwellings on the far walls. Toward the bottom of the trail, they have reconstructed several rooms to show you their dimensions.
There is also an easy rim trail but it is less fascinating, unless you are interested in botany.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very accessible way to see ancient civilizations . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Right off of the highway, you can hike down (beware : there are many steps down to the trail into the canyon - probably not advisable for some people) and see the ancient structures that were built into the hill. We visited during the winter and the trail was under construction, but time constraints didn't allow us to stay long anyway.

Absolutely worth the stop and at least take in the view from the top!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
109 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Amazing place It was worth my time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Amazing place it was worth my time. We have a wonderful experience, the facilities were clean, they have a water fountain so you can fill out your bottles/camelbacks the staff was helpful and my kids enjoy the view.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Amazing scenery. Didn't get to stay very long due to time constraints, but I plan to go back to visit and explore this area more! We recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walnut Canyon National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Walnut Canyon National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walnut Canyon National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.