We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a hole” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Flagstaff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Flagstaff to your Saves list
Knights Inn Flagstaff
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 S. Mikes Pike, Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
HILLSBORO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“what a hole”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Chose this because it was only 2 blocks from Amtrak Station, I won't make that mistake again, and this was not my first Knights Inn disappointment. The rugs were filthy, bathroom toilet (wood seat) was broken, and in general the whole place appeared unclean. Person at the desk was pleasant enough, but there needs to be some SERIOUS cleaning and updating at that place. My previous Knights Inn problem was with a Knights Inn in Williamsburg, VA, the owner/manager was terribly sarcastic and not a pleasant person to deal with and the rooms were, again, not the best. Won't stay at another Knights Inn again. Just spoke to a friend who had another dirty room Knights Inn in Virginia. Must be the norm for the chain.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    8
    19
    33
See reviews for
22
18
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

There were some sort of flying black little bug that was in the carpet, flew to the wall, night stand and even the bed. I informed the office by carting in dead ones for proof and the lady said she'd have a guy come by and "clean it up". Promptly a nice man showed up with a rag and a spray cleaner and treated the area. At that time, there were maybe 6-8 bugs. Later that day, 12...the next morning more. I went back to the office and was told there were no other rooms as they were full with reservations (it was NAU graduation weekend) altho the VACANCY sign was lit up. I guess you get what you pay for! I'm wondering if Coconino County Health Dept would want to know about this. Room #103 in case you need to know!

Room Tip: Inspect before you stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just your basics - bed, shower, sink, tv - but clean.

Our bedspread had holes, seemingly cigarette burns, but in a non-smoking room. Noisy heat/ac unit. Flat pillows and springy bed.

It's pet-friendly, but the only spot my dog could do "her business" was a patch of bushes next to the street - only the busiest street in town (a bit alarming at 5 am).

FYI - Free continental breakfast = cereal in dispensers, mini-donuts, and ancient-looking prepackaged honey-buns.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoggera
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was doing a Route 66 cycling trip and stayed here for 2 nights in May 2012. I had a Wyndham rewards card and this fell under that aegis. Being a cyclist that doesn't like camping, my requirements are pretty basic, but I had to have decent wi-fi. The room was pretty cheap, about $50, was clean and well-equipped and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom worked well. I didn't mind the dumpster parked outside the room, but it didn't help the ambience.
However, the wi-fi was a shocker and they constantly had to reboot the server for me. I found out that the loudmouth in the room next to me talking incessantly on a mobile phone was the bloke who had to do the rebooting for me, some kind of caretaker. After my third trip back from the office, he met me half-way and looked like he was going to make something of it, but limited himself to a hostile glare after I told him the Internet sucked. He probably resented being dragged away from his phone.
The office staff were polite, however, and invited me to do a Skype call to Australia in their office, where the Internet worked perfectly, after the Skype dropped out three times. I think it was the manager who told me that when I got to Williams, to stay at the Day's Inn. His sister was the manager and It was much better than this. It was, but the Knight's Inn in Flagstaff doesn't set the bar very high and I think the manager was aware of that. I stayed in a few Knight's Inns along Route 66, but this was easily the worst.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I very rarely stay at budget hotels, and before I stayed at the Knights Inn I'd never stayed at a motel or hostel. However, this was better than I was expecting, and for what we paid - something like $19 I believe - we were more than happy.

The room was spacious, interconnecting with the room of the other two in our party, had comfortable enough beds, and was clean. The bathroom wasn't fantastic but adequate.

We went out for breakfast, at a diner across the road - I can't remember its name but I would recommend it.

The Knights Inn is in a convenient location and as I said, the price is excellent, even at the weekend. We even returned a couple of months later with different people. I can say from the viewpoint of someone who is not usually a fan of budget accommodation, or even tries it, that this is a perfectly adequate place to spend a couple of nights in Flagstaff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you are looking for a Marriott or Hilton experience, this place is not for you. But if you want a convenient location, excellent price, clean room and roof over your head, the Knights Inn fits the bill. It's a 1960's era motel which means basic amenities. It's like every other small mountain community motel across the American West. The showers (no bath) have recently been retiled in modern tiles and the bath's updated. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Price was outstanding. My friend and I had climbed the San Francisco Peaks (Inner Basin Trail) and the room fit the bill. Walking distance from downtown Flagstaff, and next to campus, we found a dozen restaurants at our within a 10 minute walk. This is competitive with Super8 and other budget hotels.

Room Tip: Look for the rooms starting at 127 or 227.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Arrived and checked in. Ice machine broken. Lady on front desk of indian origin and didnt understand when I asked her for a map of Flagstaff....!! Room dark and dingy and only 2 small towels provided. Fridge made terrible noise so was unplugged, bed very soft and uncomfortable. Breakfast was coffee and plastic looking cereal in styrofoam cup and stale bread. Flagstaff is a small hub for continuing to the grand canyon, do yourself a favour, pay a few more dollars and stay somewhere else, there are loads of places to stay - I like to now stay at independent places where I can, dont stay here. Flagstaff is now a no horn town so staying near the railway is less of a big deal. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Dont stay here, put your money somewhere else - there are loads of places here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Flagstaff

Address: 224 S. Mikes Pike, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Flagstaff 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.