We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Murfreesboro

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Murfreesboro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Murfreesboro
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Old Fort Parkway, Murfreesboro, TN 37129   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #7 of 33 hotels in Murfreesboro
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“okay but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We arrived late in the evening (they knew we were going to be late) and after the end of the day the front desk staff was very friendly and welcoming. We were hungry and the attached eatery seemed the best choice rather than driving somewhere else While we are not into sports bars ti was a Wednesday and they weren't overly busy. Our server was very accommodating in working out a food allergy problem and the food was reasonably priced and tasty. Back to the room, We opted for a Jr Suite to give us the extra room and were happy with the size. The bed was welcoming and comfortable and we both got a good nights sleep. Water pressure was out of this world and the "rain" type shower head delivered as much hot water was we could ever want. In fact I stayed in the shower longer than I usually do because of the hot water and pressure. The only drawback to the Double tree is the cleanliness. When we arrived at the room it didn't have the fresh smell and there was some fuzz stuff on the floor so it was obvious that it wasn't vacuumed and the furniture had a well worn needed cleaning look. Overall the staff really makes this place with their friendly, helpful attitude. They should be commended for their hard work.

Room Tip: If you want a little extra room the Jr Suite is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srmmurfreesboro, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Murfreesboro, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share comments from your stay! I was pleased to read that our staff was friendly and that our restaurant staff took great care of you. I have shared your comments with our management team and we are addressing the cleanliness issues you mentioned.

Sincerely,
Sandra Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    112
    59
    35
    23
See reviews for
80
54
26
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 via mobile

Room was nice and clean. The bed was soft and comfortable. The location is close to several restaurants and shopping such as Wal-Mart and Target. Close to the interstate but not on top of it. The neighborhood seems safe.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed here as it was close to where we were going. The people at the front desk where very cordial and helpful, although we did not need a lot of help. Room was very clean, will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms were clean and well taken care of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

The hotel is OK, not the ritz, the restaurant/bar is nice, pool is nice. rooms are clean but the hot water was non existent on the third floor. The fridge was broken and froze and exploded a case of soda. if you stay here, opt for a first floor room and skip using the fridge.

Room Tip: Stay on first floor so you have hot water. Don't use the fridge, set too cold and everything fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. We have stayed multiple times in the past, with few problems, BUT were very disappointed when they refused to honor an MTSU discount for this visit. We live out of state & were looking for a hotel we could call "home" while visiting our son at college. We thought we had found it with the DoubleTree, but now are not sure...

We agree with other posters' comments re. the overall condition and service of this hotel. The rooms need refurbishing. Our's had carpet that was peeling up on the sides, missing artwork (hooks still in place), and writing on the wall. The bath had bugs that scurry away when the water begins. We missed maid service one day. The next, the maid half cleaned our room. She didn't put sheets on the bed & re-used the same pillow cases. We never complained because we thought we were receiving our 15% MTSU discount like we had on every other visit.

We joined the MTSU Parent's Association (for a fee) and received a discount card for many local vendors. The DoubleTree claimed to provide 15% off of the best available rate and they always have with no problem until this visit. We always call the local number to book our reservation because of the MTSU discount. Almost without fail, the Murfreesboro folks link us to the 800 central reservationist to complete the transaction. When we inquire about the 15% off, we are told to present the card at check-in. For this visit, the local clerk told us there was no problem, but we had to present the card at check-out. We thought this was odd, but complied. At check-out, my husband was repeatedly told we were prevented from receiving the agreed upon discount because our booking included a "free" breakfast. At every other visit, we also received a package with breakfast and had no trouble getting the discount. The central reservationist was aware we were using the MTSU Parent Association discount. She still steered us towards the room & breakfast package.

We find it disingenuous of management to offer this discount & then refuse to honor it AFTER our stay was complete. They want the business from this large public university, but refuse to honor their own agreed upon incentive??? This is very shortsighted of them to refuse to honor discounts for loyal repeat customers. We have representatives and a listserve in which we communicate with one another They may have made a killing this weekend & will find little to no MTSU parents in the futire. Are they aware that Hampton Inn & the Baymont Inns & Suites (both of which are rated higher!) are offering $90 a night WITH breakfast for MTSU parents?

Our bill before tax was $114.99 per night. After a THIRD conversation, management finally honored THEIR discount, which brought the bill to $97.75 a night and offered us warm cookies. Save your cookies, re-model your aging hotel, train your housekeepers, and treat your repeat customers correctly. Do NOT participate in a discount program IF you have no intention of honoring it. Management finally gave us the name of a specific woman we had to ask for, M-F, 8-4 if we ever tried to procure their discount again. No thank you. THEY need to train THEIR reservations staff on handling discount rather than trying to train their customers.

While at the font desk, we observed many disgruntled hotel guests- all trying to procure previously agreed upon discounts. Hmmmmmm.

Leaving your child in a different state far from home is VERY emotional. Don't rely on the DoubleTree to ease that transition.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandramiller, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Murfreesboro, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Reading your response regarding your stay, I am very embarassed at how you were treated. I urge our team to be proactive instead of reactive, but in your case we were neither. I am extremely sorry and would like the opportunity to speak with you and assure you that we have taken immediate action to make sure this does not occur again. We do offer this discount and will continue to do so in the future.
Thank you for sharing your comments as we do value our guest's input. I hope that you will call me and allow me the opportunity to make amends for the problems you encountered.

Sincerely,
Sandra Miller
General Manager
615-895-5555, ext. 181
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The staff, location, and cost of this hotel were GREAT.
The facility itself is dated. If this hotel could find a way to replace their HVAC system, carpet, and decorations, they'd really be a 4 Star property?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandramiller, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Murfreesboro, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and allowing me to see our property through the eyes of guest. While I wish all of our in progress updates had been completed prior to your stay, I can tell you that we have an extensive plan in place for some needed renovations.
60% of our guest rooms received new carpet in February of this year and the remaining 40% will be completed in February of 2012. All of our guest room chairs are being replaced and delivery is scheduled for the end of this month! We also are awaiting delivery of new artwork for the guest rooms.
The hotel is also in the process of changing out all of our bedding - some back order issues delayed this but we are being told this project will be completed by the end of this month.

I hope you will choose to stay with us again and see all of our updates!

Sandra Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We were on the 5th floor in an "executive suite" for eight days. It had a king-size bed, desk, easy chair with ottoman, microwave, 2-cup coffee maker and small refer. The "rain" shower and comfortable bed were the room's two best parts for me. There was no bath tub in this room. Appreciated being offered cold bottled water and warm cookies by front desk staff. Enjoyed and appreciated the breakfast each morning (scrambled eggs, tater tots, assorted fresh fruits, assorted pastries/breads, cold cereals, misc beverages, yogurt) and the "happy hours" opportunity (we were able to do that just one night), each afternoon/early evening (a few finger foods plus complimentary soda/water with no-host bar) complete with helpful and smiling staff. As for the on-site restaurant/bar, I'm not into "sports bar atmosphere" so was disappointed in that. Did have issues with the room: Toliot wouldn't flush correctly (fixed right away before there was a REAL problem!), light bulb out on one bedside lamp (replaced right away); upon arrival it looked like the room needed a good vaccuming and then staff didn't clean our room one day (THAT was disappointing and the cleaning staff were gone by the time we discovered it). During our stay, we had to ask for a bathmat, for clean drinking glasses, and towels (one time). We were there for the 33rd Annual Tennessee Walking Horse International Horse Show so kept odd hours, returning after midnight each day, thus sleeping late each morning. Would have appreciated breakfast served later than 9:00 AM but assume our hours were out of this hotel's norm. In-room wireless Internet worked great for us. I also used a computer in the "business center", and would recommend that the keyboards be cleaned routinely as each was pretty gross. Enjoyed watching the flat screen TV although there weren't many programs that matched my viewing tastes. Suggest adding one more HBO channel of newer movies? Meant to mention this at the front desk: Check the elevators as one of them dropped a few inches when we stepped on--very startling! The halls outside the rooms were very warm and stuffy, but then outside temps were over 100 degrees most days. The room air conditioner wasn't overly noisy, and that was a good thing, since it had to run most hours to keep the room at a moderate temp. Overall, a positive experience for a stay in Murfreesboro and we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandramiller, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Murfreesboro, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
We value our guest's opinions and always welcome their input - thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. Since your stay we have replaced all of the hallway air conditioners and the corridors are much cooler now.

Sincerely,
Sandra Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Murfreesboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Murfreesboro

Address: 1850 Old Fort Parkway, Murfreesboro, TN 37129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Murfreesboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Murfreesboro
#5 Business Hotel in Murfreesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Murfreesboro 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Murfreesboro, your ideal choice for Murfreesboro Tennessee hotels. The DoubleTree by Hilton in Murfreesboro provides lodging near Middle Tennessee State University, Middle Tennessee Medical Center, Alvin C. York Veterans Hospital and General Mills. We are also located near Murfreesboro attractions such as Tennessee Miller Coliseum, Oaklands, Stones River Battlefield, Cannonsburg, Sam Davis Home and Jack Daniel's Distillery. Nissan, State Farm, Pillsbury, Verizon and Stones River Mall are also nearby. When visiting Murfreesboro, Tennessee, make the DoubleTree by Hilton hotel Murfreesboro, your first choice for Murfreesboro hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Murfreesboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Murfreesboro Hotel Murfreesboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Murfreesboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.