We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Senses Restaurant, Bar, and Catering

Five Senses Restaurant, Bar, and Catering
1602 W. Northfield Blvd. Suite 515, Murfreesboro, TN 37129 (Formerly Five Senses)
+1 615-867-4155
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 362 Restaurants in Murfreesboro
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Our favorite local spot.
Ignore the idiotic previous review.
Very fine food, always well prepared.
Extra-good, always fresh.
Inventive food.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    12
    0
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I'm a local”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Expensive. Poor service. Food was average but not what I would expect for the price. Uncomfortable seating in a small space. I thought maybe I had not given it a fair shot, but after 3 visits I was not impressed. We won't be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“5 senses never fails to delight my 5 senses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

There is always something remarkable about 5 Senses. Never be afraid to call ahead and ask the chef for a special meal. Owner Mitchell Murfree has a knack for specialty home-made ice cream ( Honey Lavender Thyme is to die for) anything to do with Figs and his pie....oh my goodness full of fruit with a practically non-exsistant crust. No matter that I am not frequently in Murfreesboro, I make a point to call ahead and eat lunch ( yummy corn bread muffins) or dinner when I can Annnnd I trek over there just to get a pie a couple of times per year to impress that important dinner guest or a hungry gathering during Thanksgiving. Watch or call to see when Sunday brunch is being served....Yum. I only wish they would do a patio dining offering in the spring and fall with umbrellas and big field tables.. Would be a fun way to enjoy the delicious food~!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Can't get enough I this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Five Senses is by far the best restaurant in the Boro. Their seafood is excellent and everything they serve is super fresh and unique. I have eaten there as a party of two and also as part of a large group. Both times the food and service were outstanding!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Murfreesboro gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We've been several times, and the food is very, very good. The portions are slightly larger than most restaurants of this type, and quality only increases the value! The special seasonal drink menu offers tasty concoctions. The Fall Sangria is excellent. Our favorite entree is the filet, which is one of the best filets I've tasted in years, far exceeding Morton's, Fleming's, and the like. The Venison is fantastic, as well. The salads are great, but the desserts have been somewhat of a disappointment. The best part is ingredients are sourced locally, if possible, and the freshness is quite evident. The service has been both great and lackluster, depending on the server, but is not enough of an issue to keep us from coming back. Murfreesboro should support and treasure this unique gem. We're thrilled to have such a fantastic dining option and will return as soon as possible!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Senses Restaurant, Bar, and Catering also viewed

 

Been to Five Senses Restaurant, Bar, and Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Senses Restaurant, Bar, and Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.