We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the real deal local flavor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slick Pig Bar-b-q

Slick Pig Bar-b-q
1920 E Main St, Murfreesboro, TN 37130-4012
615-890-3583
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 356 Restaurants in Murfreesboro
Cuisines: Barbecue
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“This is the real deal local flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The food here is amazing. If you don't get anything else, get the smoked wings. I'd eat them for breakfast if they were open in the morning. The ribs are some of the best in Middle Tennessee. When I was there, the owner came out and talked to me and my kids for a long time. Very friendly guy.
When visitors come in from out of town, I try to take them here to give them the local flavor. I rated the atmosphere low, but that's part of the draw.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    29
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Like the Sausage & slaw”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

This is a good local BBq place and worth a try. The service is fast and friendly. I was not impressed with their ribs but enjoyed th links. The wings are good if you like smoked. A good change of pace from the fast food and chains.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Wings as well as barbeque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Really like their slaw. Barbeque is good. Wings are great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Wings - say no more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

No sauce, just smoke. I've never had anything close to these. We buy 50 at a time and take them home. I think I could eat them every day. It is a hole in the wall, but don't pass it up.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A True Original”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Slick Pig is one of a kind--a Murfreesboro (and MTSU) favorite. New on the menu: fried pickles, catfish, and, best of all, banana pudding. No telling who you'll run into. I recommend the white beans, and you can get a slice of raw onion to go with them. But the banana pudding is the best!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slick Pig Bar-b-q also viewed

 

Been to Slick Pig Bar-b-q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slick Pig Bar-b-q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.