We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina's on the Square

Marina's on the Square
125 N Maple St, Murfreesboro, TN 37130-3506
(615) 849-8881
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 356 Restaurants in Murfreesboro
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our group of 5 went to Marina's for lunch. Despite the busy time of day, the server made us feel at home and not rushed. Our table ordered pizza, pasta, & specials. The food came quickly. Our salads were ample and the dressing / lettuce ratio was good. The pasta was delicious and perfectly cooked although there could have been a bit more sauce. The pizza was tasty but the crust was disappointing as it was limp and doughy. For having so many tasty dishes on the menu, I was really put off by the bread basket. There was a small loaf of sliced bread served with real butter on the side. Kudos for the butter but the bread was plain, boring, not even heated to crisp the crust. It obviously wasn't made fresh but more than likely delivered like a pkg. of buns.
Not to end on a negative note, I would go back to this restaurant in a heartbeat as the pasta & meat sauce were delicious!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Possibly the best restaurant in Murfreesboro.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We recently moved to Murfreesboro and were happy to discover Marina's. The food is amazing. I also love the atmosphere inside. The windows are large and arched, the tables have candles, the servers are friendly, the music is not too loud. They also have an amazing Thursday "Date Night" special where a couple can share an appetizer, get two entree's, and have either two glasses of wine or share a dessert for $30 (before tax and tip). It is classic Italian food, and if you aren't there on Thursday most of the entree's are in the $10 - $15 dollar range. If you are ever in Murfreesboro and need a place to eat I cannot recommend Marina's enough.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, TN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Always has good food and friendly staff. This is a family favorite.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Romantic and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Marina's is a cozy little restaurant and a great place to take a date. The staff are friendly and the menu is well priced.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tn
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The bread is life changing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

If you have never been to Marina's on the Square in Murfreesboro you are missing one of life's great pleasures. All hand crafted sauces and dressings. The bread that they bring to the table is the best bread I have ever eaten, period. From sour dough in San Fran to home made at Pikes in Seattle this is tops. The calzone is my staple but the pizza, pasta, Alfredo is all amazing. The atmosphere and value are a pleasant surprise as well. The greatest attribute to Marina's is the consistency. It's always the same amazing food and service. Lunch or dinner.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina's on the Square also viewed

 

Been to Marina's on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina's on the Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.