We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“o.k. but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cracker Barrel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cracker Barrel
I-24 & Highway 96, Exit 78B, Murfreesboro, TN 37129-6901
(615) 893-4980
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #180 of 362 Restaurants in Murfreesboro
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Erwin, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“o.k. but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Food was about the same as other Cracker Barrel; service not as good as expected. Waitress seemed overwhelmed by everything; spilt milk about had her running from us!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Recenlty ate at Cracker Barrel, excellent experience - service well above average, well prepared food, very convenient locaton. We will return on our next trip to Murfreesboro.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not as good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This use to be the best place in town to eat. But lately the food has not been good. I had country ham, hash brown cassorole & mac & cheese. Ham wasn't bad but the hash browns were taste like they where cooked early that morning. We were there for supper and you could just tell they were old. Mac & cheese was just average. It seems like after the founder of this place died so did the good food. Want be going back for a while and when I do it will be for breakfast maybe the food will be fresh them.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Its a Cracker Barrel...just like all the others.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just your average Cracker Barrel. It met the needs of my elderly parents (who like consistency when they travel), but eating at Cracker Barrel when travelling in the South is like eating at McDonalds in Paris (at least to me!)!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camdenton, MO
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“High 2, maybe a very low 3”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I've concluded Cracker Barrel restaurants are more interested in selling items from their store than provided good tasting food. Service is hurried but okay, menu is geared to food that can be cooked quickly or held already cooked. I ordered lemon pepper trout, it tasted oily, not fresh, and terribly over-peppered. Should have sent it back but we were too tired to wait for a different meal. My wife ordered a chopped beef meal, it was way overcooked, to the point it was crunchy. Sorry Cracker Barrel, but you should be able to do better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cracker Barrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.