We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stones River National Battlefield

Stones River National Battlefield
3501 Old Nashville Highway, Murfreesboro, TN 37129
615-893-9501
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Murfreesboro
Type: Battlefields, Tourist/ Visitor Centers
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Scene of a significant 1862 Civil War battle fought by 81,000 soldiers for control of middle Tennessee.
La Vergne, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have lived in the area for 15 years and have never been here. Then it looked like we may be moving away and I thought we had better start seeing some of the attractions. We started with the battlefield. It was an awesome day. Just my hubby, son and I. Educational and peaceful. We did our own thing and had a great time. Made a day of it

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    57
    14
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Battlefield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The visitor center is very clean, informative and a great gift shop. The rangers are very helpful. They offer a lengthy tour with a guide or you can give yourself a self-guided tour. I have always done the self-guided tour. They take a lot of care maintaining the grounds and have special civil war events throughout the year!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This battlefield is a must-see if you are in the Middle Tennessee area. It is nicely preserved and well-maintained. It has a beautiful visitors center with a small museum. You can see all manner of artifacts from the battle including authentic uniforms, rifles, cannon, and even the Medals of Honor awarded to those who fought in this terrible battle.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We visited here earlier this week and it was sooo worthwhile and interesting. We learned a lot about the Civil War and how it impacted this area of TN. Very well worth the time to visit. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great for history buffs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We did not have much time to spend there on this trip, but hope to return. The visitors' center was convenient and easy to find. It detailed great information for for visiting the battlefield. Trails were easy to walk and well marked. We hope to return.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stones River National Battlefield also viewed

 

Been to Stones River National Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stones River National Battlefield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.