We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stones River National Battlefield

Stones River National Battlefield
3501 Old Nashville Highway, Murfreesboro, TN 37129
615-893-9501
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 14 attractions in Murfreesboro
Type: Battlefields, Tourist/ Visitor Centers
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Scene of a significant 1862 Civil War battle fought by 81,000 soldiers for control of middle Tennessee.
La Vergne, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have lived in the area for 15 years and have never been here. Then it looked like we may be moving away and I thought we had better start seeing some of the attractions. We started with the battlefield. It was an awesome day. Just my hubby, son and I. Educational and peaceful. We did our own thing and had a great time. Made a day of it

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    44
    13
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Battlefield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The visitor center is very clean, informative and a great gift shop. The rangers are very helpful. They offer a lengthy tour with a guide or you can give yourself a self-guided tour. I have always done the self-guided tour. They take a lot of care maintaining the grounds and have special civil war events throughout the year!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This battlefield is a must-see if you are in the Middle Tennessee area. It is nicely preserved and well-maintained. It has a beautiful visitors center with a small museum. You can see all manner of artifacts from the battle including authentic uniforms, rifles, cannon, and even the Medals of Honor awarded to those who fought in this terrible battle.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We visited here earlier this week and it was sooo worthwhile and interesting. We learned a lot about the Civil War and how it impacted this area of TN. Very well worth the time to visit. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great for history buffs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We did not have much time to spend there on this trip, but hope to return. The visitors' center was convenient and easy to find. It detailed great information for for visiting the battlefield. Trails were easy to walk and well marked. We hope to return.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stones River National Battlefield also viewed

 

Been to Stones River National Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stones River National Battlefield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.