We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have young children, go here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Center

Discovery Center
502 SE Broad Street, Murfreesboro, TN 37130
(615) 890-2300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 Attractions in Murfreesboro
Type: Children's Museums
Attraction Details
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If you have young children, go here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very playfor young children. Lots of hands on exhibits, play areas inside and out. You can make a day of it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    25
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
US
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Discovery Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We are always looking for a new activity for our grandchildren. We found the Discovery Center in Murfreesboro and spent an entire day there. The Center has a nice variety of displays to keep children occupied, including a wonderful railroad model that entertained adults as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murfreesboro, tn
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lots of work needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The first time I visited with my son was about 3 years ago and I was pretty impressed; he was about 2 1/2 at the time. Each time we have visited it has continually gone downhill. There are so many things that have broken and needed to be replaced, but as of our last visit they still were not fixed, and they are simple fixes. They do have an area for special exhibits and those change every few months. One thing that is unique to this children's museum is the wetlands and the trails. Although we have never done this it is a nice attribute. We have visited children's museums in Chattanooga, Baltimore, and Indianapolis and those are exceptional. I realize that those museum's are much bigger and space is an issue, but I think that what we have here should be kept in working condition. There is a new director, so I hope that great things are coming for this museum. Don't get me wrong, my 5 1/2 year old still has fun there, but I see potential for so much more.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Popular field trip site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Designated area for babies and toddlers was a very welcomed site. It was clean, safe, and age appropriate. The older children enjoyed the huge indoor slide and hands on water feature. The craft/ art area is a nice place to wind down after exploring all the different areas of this museum. Outside there is a play area. Very nice bridge and walkway through the wetlands area. Benches and shade along the way. No charge for outdoor nature walk.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Relief for Parents”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Looking for a way to involve the children with interactive and educational activities while getting a break from keeping them busy, or in some cases under control, then head to the Discovery Center in Murfreesboro. Guaranteed to wear the kids out while having fun.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Center also viewed

 

Been to Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.