We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has seen better days...but clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2282 Armory Dr., Murfreesboro, TN 37129   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Murfreesboro
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Has seen better days...but clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I was placed in this hotel because everything was booked due to a Dog Show in town. This hotel is rather old, and dark in the hallways,yet I can say it was clean. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were outdated, even tho they seemed to have had a "little face lift" maybe 5 years ago. The bed was too soft and you could feel the springs. The blanket on the bed was itchy. I didn't use it. The first floor rooms are very low to the ground. You can just climb right in. Lol. Old furniture. The microfridge was ill placed, next to the bed? The pool area seemed nice. The outer bathroom area was nice (sink area) but the inside bathroom was old and the toilet was like nothing I've ever seen. It was industrial strength and will suck your butt in if you are not careful. The hotel was okay for two nights. The staff friendly. Location was near lots of shopping and places to eat. It was under $70, so couldn't expect too much. Oh yeah it's pet friendly. So if you like pets cool, if not you won't like this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
535, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your stay.

Travis Ashby GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    17
    7
    11
See reviews for
18
15
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is barely a two, I would really give it a 1.5 rating if they had that. We stayed here overnight on a road trip, but the rooms were booked months in advance.

Cons - Old, moldy, smoky, and just overall a stinky hotel in the rooms and throughout. I was with other people, so I got to see three different rooms. All were like this. Our room also smelled like urine. The beds are very hard, so be warned. We booked a Superior King Room Non-Smoking, and while it did have a king bed in it, it did not have the jet tub in it like many other reviews stated (which is why we booked it). We immediately called the front desk to inquire about this, but they said this room was $100 a night. I have looked, and looked at many dates in the near and far future....there is not a room category that is ever anywhere near $100. They were supposed to speak to the manager, and get back to us. This never happened. Also, at check in the person at the front desk made an extremely odd face when we all walked in to check in. I am not sure why, we were smiling, and friendly. With a RediCard you are supposed to have an express check-in, and be given a bottle of water....neither were received. They also had computer issues that night, so our bill was hard to read. This was not explained to us until I went back and asked them what was going on because it looked like they had charged us for two nights!

Pros - Leaving that morning!

We won't be back.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
535, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I'm sorry your stay was not as you expected. None of our Superior King rooms at anytime have ever had jets in the tubs. We did at one time have a few rooms that had whirlpools in them ,but they were taken out a while back. At that time they did rent for 99.99. Thank you for your comments and we will investigate your concerns.
Travis Ashby GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Clean rooms. Front desk guys (at check-in) didn't know much about the area. The gentleman that was at the front desk during check-out did, and he was very nice. Breakfast was minimal. No wheat bread. No protein other than peanut butter. Lots of grassy areas on property and nearby to walk your dog.

This is an older RRI and it is starting to look tired.

There are other nearby hotels that are newer and have better breakfast options for about $10 more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
535, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your stay. We appreciate your comments.

Travis Ashby GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye Lake
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Its a great hotel , people that work there are very nice . I loved the bed. There offer smoking rooms. There's a mall and everything you could need close by. Very nice town. Pool is clean and very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
535, Travis Ashby GM at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Thanks for the nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last night. It was a good place to stay overnight on my way to Florida from Wisconsin. Given the price everything was as I expected. The free breakfast was minimal- a few types of cereal, bread, and some danish-type pastries. The beds were comfortable enough, but there were holes in both comforters (I assume from cigarettes although it was a non-smoking room.) One of my blankets had dog hair on it, but I was too tired to really care. It was very quiet and the two employees I talked to were very nice. Overall I can't complain for the price I paid. Everything was adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
535, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I stopped here on my way through Tennessee looking for something affordable but nice. I found what I wanted at the red roof inn! the price was definitely affordable, beds were comfortable and clean, bathroom was updated with marble walls and a nice shower curtain. there was a small refrigerator and microwave in the room as well, so I was able to enjoy some. popcorn from the vending machine down the hall. The gentleman who checked me in was very helpful and polite, as was the gentleman who checked me out in the morning. would definitely stay here again if travelling in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
535, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you, we enjoyed having you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at the Murfreesboro Red Roof Inn. We were completely happy with our experience. It's a terrific value, especially because the motel did not charge for us to have our dog with us. The rooms had a few features that place it above most of its price competitors (microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee). It was pretty clean and quite comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
535, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank for staying with us. We loved having you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Red Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn

Address: 2282 Armory Dr., Murfreesboro, TN 37129
Location: United States > Tennessee > Murfreesboro
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Murfreesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No Truck Parking- Seasonal Pool- No Elevator ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Murfreesboro
Murfreesboro Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.