We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional staff and lousy food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Scranton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton Scranton to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Meadow Avenue, Scranton, PA 18505 (Formerly Clarion Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Derby, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unprofessional staff and lousy food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our check-in experience was not great. Two young unprofessional girls. Our server at dinner wasn't much better and the food was terrible! We will definitely not be staying here again. Also note, there are no adjoining rooms. Evidently, the people at the 800 # do not know this.

Room Tip: No adjoining rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    20
    8
    12
See reviews for
29
18
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I used this hotel on a stopover on a road trip. I used SPG points so received a room on the top (SPG) floor. The hotel was very quiet with few guests, and this might have led to the somewhat deserted feeling. Reception was attentive, but they were also training new staff so there was some delay. When I arrived in my room and tried to call front desk, it would appear all lines flow there, so the line was busy for some time as front desk took other calls. A better switchboard service would help. They mentioned they had given me a room away from the elevator as is my preference, so they clearly noted my SPG registered preferences. The original room was clean and newly renovated, but a walk into the bathroom made it clear that no one had reviewed the space since bathroom renovations had been done. The tub had a film of grout and construction dust/dirt in it and the marble counter top was also covered. As they didn't answer the phone, I had to go down in person to change out the room. They offered to have someone come with me to move my luggage, and I believe the manager overheard the discussion as I received a call about 15 minutes later checking the satisfaction with the second room and an offer for a free breakfast voucher which was delivered promptly. I can find little fault with the room, other than the poor silencing of the main door. I could hear the one other occupied room on the floor, with crying child and noisy early departure. However, the windows were well sound proofed particularly with a noisy freeway not far away. It was quiet and I appreciated the reading chair and footstool. As noted, the coffee was very good.
There is still some renovation going on as one elevator was out of service for upgrades. The other one also needs to be upgraded soon. It was very slow, and the call button response was erratic. The main floor area has been renovated with comfortable looking furniture and has potential. I was disappointed to see the pool was right off one of the relaxing spaces, as it had a full wall of windows to the pool and the smell of chlorine was overly evident. The meal service was quick and friendly. They switched out some fruit for toast as I am gluten intolerant. Unfortunately, for some reason, the quality just seemed like surface dressing.

Room Tip: rooms away from the elevator and ice machines will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

We got a great sleep in the firm, comfortable bed. Sheets and towels were clean and white. Coffee maker worked well and coffee tasted delicious.

However, we were disgusted by the hair and cereal that emerged from our sink when we ran water into it. It was hopelessly clogged. There were hair trimmings on the floor by the bathtub and dirty marks on the bed skirt.

The hotel would receive better reviews if it used higher housekeeping quality control measures.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Scranton, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear LuannMcVey,
While we are delighted you enjoyed our comfortable guest rooms, we sincerely apologize for the complication you encountered with your bathroom sink. It’s very important to us to properly maintain our hotel, so we have immediately addressed your comments with housekeeping to ensure this does not occur again. Thank you for sharing your review with us, and we hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Great room, great coffee, housekeeping needs to clean the heater vents though other than that everything was great! The hot tub was a nice surprise. I would def stay here again. And recommend it to all my fellow travelers.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Scranton, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear kryptonite90,
We’re happy to hear you loved your stay at our hotel and enjoyed our guest rooms, free amenities, and services. Thank you for your review and recommendation, and we look forward to hosting you again the next time you travel to Scranton. All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

If you're booking this hotel for a stop on a road trip because you want one with an indoor pool, call ahead to see if it's been cleaned up first! We were so disappointed that, after a long day driving, we couldn't use the pool. It was open, but it the walls were moldy, the water was warm (bordering on hot), the intense smell of chlorine and the heat in the pool area was so strong, we decided it was safer not to swim. Other guests agreed and didn't swim either. When we told the front desk, the reply was, "Oh....we never go in there." Strange. Anyway, they gave us free breakfast at the hotel restaurant. The food was average. The hotel rooms were okay but the beds weren't very comfortable and the bathrooms weren't as clean as I would have liked.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Scranton, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear CdnFullofWanderlust,
We are very sorry you were disappointed with your recent stay at our hotel and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the condition of our indoor pool. Cleanliness is extremely important to us and what you described does not reflect our standards. Rest assured, your comments have been immediately addressed with engineering and housekeeping to ensure all areas of our hotel are properly maintained. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope to have a chance to serve you again to prove that this is not the norm. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utica, new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Hi,
Well first off front staff excellent and real cool. Was there for a aau trip for my son.
Rooms were ok, carpets were ok. Bed and sheets were some of the best eve, the rooms
are your avg. 2 queens etc, but bathroom was real tiny, but worked great.
The electric grill restaurant was excellent though understaffed and free break was not
with our rate. plenty of outside parking. not too much to do around there, but there was a grocery store, dollar store, wine and beer store and drug stores across the street and all over. Enjoyed the trip and hotel very much

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

We stayed one night at this hotel. We found it to be an excellent value and clean and friendly. The downstairs bar and Grill is excellent. My only complaint is that the bathroom on our room it was extremely small.

I recommend this location if you're passing through Scranton.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Scranton

Address: 300 Meadow Avenue, Scranton, PA 18505 (Formerly Clarion Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Scranton 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place to Be. With easy access to Interstates 81 and 84, the Four Points by Sheraton Scranton is close to the areas major attractions, including the University of Scranton and Marywood University. Discover history where it happened at the Steamtown National Historic Site and on the Lackawanna Coal Mine Tour, or learn more at the Everhart Museum and the Harry Houdini Museum. Go skiing, enjoy fun water activities, and see a concert at Montage Mountain. Catch a Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders game at PNC Field, or try your luck at Mohegan Sun Casino. Everything You Want. Whether youre in town for business or leisure, youll find plenty to do here. Make time for a workout in our state-of-the-art fitness center or relax in our spacious indoor hot tub. Take a dip in our indoor heated pool—we can even host a pool party for the kids. Meet up with relatives, friends, or colleagues at the Electric Grill, which serves comfort food and a range of craft beers. Or relax over a fresh brew at our coffee bar. Our five state-of-the-art function venues can host up to 250 people. And our experienced planning and catering staffs can assist with staging an event to remember. Work or Play. Our spacious guest rooms have everything you need for a great stay, plus free extras like wireless High Speed Internet Access. Catch up on work at our newly designed work desk with an ergonomic chair. Unwind in front of the 42-inch LCD flat screen TV with a delicious meal or snack from our room-service menu. After a long day, get a good nights sleep in a king- or queen-size Four Points signature bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Scranton
Clarion Scranton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Scranton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.