We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit of a throwback” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abe's Kosher Delicatessen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Abe's Kosher Delicatessen
326 N Washington Ave, Scranton, PA 18503
(570) 342-4517
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 287 Restaurants in Scranton
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Kosher
Restaurant details
Harwich, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“a bit of a throwback”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I ate at Abe's Kosher Deli one evening in late fall when we were passing through Scranton. It reminded me of the kind of kosher home-style cooking that I experienced with my grandmother in the '50s and have not had in a long time. In our visit to the restaurant, it appeared to us that the other diners were regulars--and that the owner seemed to take as part of his role to provide familiar kosher fare to many in the small remaining Scranton Jewish community. This is not meant to be snide or critical. In fact, I think that the restaurant largely succeeds in this role. We learned that they have customers who eat their twice a day. We observed that the atmosphere at Abe's was comfortable and homey; the service was good and appropriately attentive. While the food cannot be called gourmet, it was in fact what the regulars seem to expect and want. For my part, I have to confess that the meal brought back old memories and I enjoyed it--perhaps somewhat more than my wife enjoyed hers.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A true NYC style Jewish Deli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Good food, good lunch. Its cozy but I get my lunch in a timely manner and its only half a block from the courthouse. Been going here since before they moved to the new location. A local favorite.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Poor Abe's”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The soup was and salty; the kreplach were hard and undercooked (on several occasions), the pastrami was fatty, the prices high, especially considering the (low) quality. Despite its convenient location near the SCC, I'll not be returning anytime soon.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Just an ordinary meal....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was my first meal in Scranton, and things only got better. The corned beef was very good, but the remainder of the meal (eggs, hashbrowns, bagel, potato pancakes) was only ordinary. Prices and service were good, but I was not impressed overall.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Best deli in Scranton!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Food is always delicious and consistent. Great potato pancakes!
(No need to wait for the Summer Church Picnics!) They'll prepare anything the way you want it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abe's Kosher Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Abe's Kosher Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abe's Kosher Delicatessen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.