We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went again this year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Electric City Trolley Station and Museum

The Electric City Trolley Station and Museum
300 Cliff Street, Scranton, PA 18503
(570) 963-6530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 Attractions in Scranton
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Went again this year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This continues to be the best trolley ride in the east, perhaps in the US. It is overshadowed by Steamtown but don't miss it. The museum is nice but the ride is mandatory.

On some Sundays you can take the trolley from downtown to the AAA Yankee's ballpark, great fun!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We took my 6 year-old grandson on the trolley ride while visiting Steamtown National Park. Both grandparents and grandson enjoyed the ride to the terminal on Montage Mountain and back. The guide was exceptional and gave us great background information on the trolley system of the past and restoration plans for the future. We did not have a chance to tour the museum.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Boring”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Nothing interesting here, I played a dinner party with some musicians and I don't get it. It seemed like a small pointless area of photos on the wall and an electronic trolley on the wall.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better ride than Steamtown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The museum itself was small & basic but interesting enough. The real star is the ten mile round trip trolley ride! Far longer than the Steamtown train (itself a fun romp), it includes a mile long tunnel, scenic woodlands, local history, & a stop at the restoration shops at the far end. When the minor league Scranton Yankees are playing you can even park at the museum & ride the trolley to the game!
My only complaint was a less than enthusiastic staff at the ticket booth/gift shop, but I've been there before & know that's not always the case.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg,Ma.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lot of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

If you like trolleys/trains then this is the place to visit.Many items on display that tell the story of how it all got started ,we even took the trolley ride up to Montage Mountain.Numerous trains/trolleys on display.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Electric City Trolley Station and Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Electric City Trolley Station and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Electric City Trolley Station and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.