We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good; Great for Scranton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of POSH at Scranton Club

POSH at Scranton Club
404 North Washington Ave., Scranton, PA
570-955-5890
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
POSH at Scranton Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 285 Restaurants in Scranton
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mulberry Street
Description: POSH At The Scranton Club is a full service restaurant and Event facility located in beautiful downtown Scranton in what was formerly a private club. Opened to the public for the first time in the building's history, POSH offers classic American cuisine in a refined yet casual setting as well as the latest cocktails in the Fashion Lounge, and Oak Bar. A second floor event space can hold up to 250 guests for any special event.
Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good; Great for Scranton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The guys that run Posh & The Colonnade do a fabulous job. I've been to several special events over the past few years and it is always top notch. My wife and I finally got to eat and POSH recently. The service & food was good and the atmosphere was very good as well. I was not blown out of the water but I believe they are steering the food culture in Scranton in the right direction. This would be my date night/client lunch palace.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gouldsboro, Pa.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Before A Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Attended a NEPAPhil show, a dinner option was available at Posh. Signed up for dinner. Instructed to arrive at 5:00 PM for appetizers and cocktails. A nice selection of wines and cocktails to purchase was available. The wait staff served shrimp shooters and pork dumplings. There was a groaning table with assorted cheese, fruit, and crudites.. The Oak Room was used for the cocktail hour. The dinner was a buffet served in a lower level banquet room. The first course was a fresh salad. The entrees were Orange Roughy in a light sauce, Roast Beef with fresh horseradish topping, and a grilled Chicken. The sides were string beans and mashed potatoes. Dessert was NY style cheesecake. I went back for more Orange Roughy and Roast Beef. The food was excellent and the service professional. Recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“About the best Scranton has to offer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have eaten here several times and have not been disappointed with the food. Service was spotty when the restaurant first opened but has improved over time. We also attended a wedding reception in the second floor venue and the food was, as usual, exceptional.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scranton, pa
1 review
“Great Food, Horrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have been 3 times in the past few months, each time saying we will give it another shot. The decor is great, the food is amazing, but the service is HORRIBLE. First time there was so much confusion, 3 waitresses came over before they could figure out who our server was, then it took an 30 minutes to get our drinks but the food was great. Second time water was never filled, drinks refilled, but the food was great. Third time it took 1.5 hours to get our meal, good thing we were w/ a party of 6 to keep the conversation flowing. The staff never refilled our water or asked us if we needed another drink as we WAITED and WAITED for our meals. not to mention the restaurant wasn't all too busy. But again the food was great.

If they could figure out how to get front of house and kitchen working in sync that would be great. So we will give it one more shot before writing it off. Great food, horrible service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

If your in Scranton, this is the newest hippest place to have a cool event. Great food...great atmosphere..great service.....i highly recommend it....a nice dining experience!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed POSH at Scranton Club also viewed

 

Been to POSH at Scranton Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage POSH at Scranton Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.