We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good small city steakhouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carl Von Luger s

Carl Von Luger s
301 North Washington Avenue, Scranton, PA 18503
(570) 955-5290
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 283 restaurants in Scranton
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Binghamton, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good small city steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Peter Lugers, Ruth's Chris, Bryant and coopers in Long Island, some of my fave steakhouses. Eat at these places 3-6 times per year when traveling. Carl Von Lugers is pretty close in terms of quality for a smaller city steakhouse. Steak was pretty close to Peter Lugers. Sides were okay and very small. Salads and appetizers were really good. Wedge salad was perfect. Of course the most important aspect for steak lovers is the quality of the steak. The porterhouse was close to the quality at peters, just about. Same price range. Expensive. Which you can expect at such an establishment. I would definitely dine there again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    16
    11
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I dined here last evening and, although no our first choice, we were pleasantly surprised! We were in Scranton to see a show and our planned destination was too crowded, so we decided to take a stroll and see what the area offered. We came upon CVL and the décor looked inviting, so we decided to check it out. The service was very good, our waitress was very pleasant and attentive. The restaurant has nice ambiance, there was soothing jazz music and the food was very good. The crab cakes do have some filler but were quite tasty! We don't go to Scranton very often but would definitely return!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Von Luger's rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

On a road trip to NY. Pulled into Scranton looking for a place to have a good meal and a little rest from the road. Found CVL and decided to try it. Lovely dining room, great food at a good price and Suzie at the bar was a gem!!! Even the lotion in the ladies room from Fanciful Fox was a treat. This place is in my phone as a place to go back to!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cheaper Than I Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Located in comparatively sedate Scranton (sedate compared to NYC and Philly) I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and the service.

Other posters compare the prices to NYC and London ... Huh? I don't know where they were dining in those cities unless it was Sizzler. The prices seemed to be the about the same as suburbia near NYC and Philly and that only applies to the entrees - not the sides or appetizers (as far as I could see.) Frankly, the sides weren't as good as my filet mignon (very nice crust) or as good as other steakhouses... too bad. The butter, BTW, that came with the bread was divine! The desserts were very nice, too. (I hope I spelled that right.)

I'd go there again - no question about it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The beef is just fabulous!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We started with a piece of grilled bacon, it was so good. You can also add their own sauce, to be tried! My entree was a filet mignon, and I ordered it rare, with spinach puree. Too good! Be careful with the size, it looks like Texas size. Prices are a bit high, but I would recommend this restaurant for Valentine's day evening!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carl Von Luger s also viewed

 

Been to Carl Von Luger s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carl Von Luger s, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.