We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, clean place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott to your Saves list
Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   949 Viewmont Drive, Scranton, PA 18519   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
jordyn07
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great, clean place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

Originally we checked into a different hotel. Quickly decided we could not stay there, checked out and checked into the Fairfield Inn Scranton. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms very clean and bright. Overall a wonderful lodging experience and I would recommend staying there to all my family and friends.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    46
    29
    5
    2
See reviews for
44
26
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany,NY
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2006

Staff was excellent especially Alberta Desk and Grace Housekeeping. Management was very friendly and professional greeting us during brekafast, we were laughing over Good Morning America with the GM, really makes you feel like family. Rooms very clean also seemed to be newly remolded. Great place excellent service clean rooms!

  • Liked — Clean, Bed very comfortable
  • Disliked — No Exercise facility, but offer a pass to a local gym fee $5
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy the pool
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, DE
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2006

This is an above average Fairfield Inn located right off I-81 just north of Scranton, PA. It is part of a big box retail area and is close to lots of shopping and dining options. Upon arrival I learned I had been named 'Guest of the Day'. While this recogniton was nice, no staff members seemed to know exactly what that meant. Room was fine with the new upgraded Marriott bedding. Bathroom was also updated with the new curver shower curtain. Only complaint on the room is that it could have been a bit cleaner. Breakfast the next morning was a bit sparse but pretty standard for a Fairfield Inn. Overall I would stay here again. for the $55 rate, this place can't be beat.

  • Liked — Well priced, new bedding, convenient location
  • Disliked — Could have been cleaner
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

We got this hotel for $39 per night on Priceline. We stayed there one night from 7/29/06 to 7/30/06. I called ahead and requested a non-smoking room with two double beds. The first room we got had the two beds in it, but smelled strongly of smoke. The maid tried to spray the room to get rid of the smell, but that did not work. My wife said that there was a spot on one of the sheets and the maid quickly changed the sheet. Since the strong smoke smell in the room could not be removed, I spoke to the manager to request a room change. She appeared to be reluctant at first to change our room stating the the hotel was completely booked for the night. I stated to her that I spoke to Kara one of her staff the day before and she said that she was going to process my request for a non-smoking room. After some initial reluctance, the manager changed our room to a room with two beds that did not have the smell of smoke in it. I was told by the maid that later in the year the hotel will become totally non-smoking.

The hotel was conveniently located near the interstate. It was a short ride to go see the Red Barrons play on Saturday night. The beds were comfortable and the second room we were assigned to was clean and pleasant. The hotel has a free continental breakfast and free parking. The continental breakfast was good. It included Belgium waffles. It included a lot of items and was a good value. The indoor pool was nice and included a whirlpool. Overall the hotel was an excellent value and I would stay there again especially when they go 100% non-smoking.

  • Liked — The value, the continental breakfast
  • Disliked — The room we were first assigned to
  • Tips/Secrets — None
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

Really like the Scranton Fairlfield Inn during our three nights there. Clean room, bathroom, good breakfast, and very helpful front desk staff. Only problem we had was housekeeping throwing away a bag of items we had in the room. Just some snacks and other small items from the trip, but it would be helpful if they paid more attention to your belongings. They apologized and said they would credit my Marriott Rewards with some extra points, but I doubt that I'll see them. Would likely go back despite the housekeeping slip up.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2006

This hotel is one of the best I've stayed at with great rates. I only spent two nights there but was completely satisfied with every aspect of the hotel...cleanliness, staff, rooms, amenities, great pool area and great hotel location. The front desk people were very friendly...it felt like I'd stayed there several times and they knew me. Plus the breakfast offered was great and the person keeping it supplied with all the food was also very friendly and did everything to satisfy customers.
We also met people from the area that were staying there just to use the pool with their children and they told us it was the best place for the money in the area. I just want to take this opportunity to thank everyone of the staff at the Fairfield Inn for making our stay pleasant and enjoyable. We look forward to our next visit.....thanks again...


Robert & Deborah

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2006

Friendliest staff I have ever encountered! Very clean room and bathroom. We were greeted with a welcome sign for the guests arriving that day and checked in fast. There was coffee and teain the lobby available for free 24/7. There were candies in our room, comphy king size bed, and large TV. Complimentary breakfast in the morning with yummy belgin waffles. Great late checkout of noon.
Also a pool on first floor with tables and chairs, looked very clean. No flash here, but you don't expect flash at a Fairfield. We will def. stay again! Located by over 30 restaurants and all the shopping you would want!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott

Address: 949 Viewmont Drive, Scranton, PA 18519
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scranton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott welcomes you with excellent amenities and always-friendly service with a smile. We're conveniently located, within miles of major highways and over 50 restaurants, shops, and other attractions. Business travelers have made us one of the go-to hotels in the Scranton, PA area for our close proximity to the Oil and Gas region, major healthcare facilities such as CHS, Alliance Global, TMG, Geisinger and other major companies! Likewise, leisure guests love to stay at Scranton Fairfield Inn for a convenient rest near popular attractions: NBC's "The Office" Tour, Viewmont Mall, Steamtown National Historic Site and Mohegan Sun Casino. When you're ready to relax, do so in our spacious rooms complete with luxury bedding, free Wi-Fi and premium Satellite channels on 32" flat screen TVs. Start each morning with our newly expanded free hot breakfast, now featuring scrambled eggs, breakfast bacon or sausage, fresh fruit, Dannon yogurt and more. You'll also enjoy an indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scranton Fairfield Hotel Dickson City
Fairfield Dickson City
Fairfield Inn Dickson City
Scranton Fairfield Inn
Dickson City Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.