We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott

Save Saved
You added Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   949 Viewmont Drive, Scranton, PA 18519   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Scranton
Adirondacks NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a last minute stay. We traveling back from Easter break and very tired . Saw the Fairfield from the highway and said lets give it a try. When I entered the hotel I saw . That there was youth basketball team watching the NCAA game in the lobby . The girl at the desk also told me. A baseball and a softball team was also staying there. She then told me they are putting all the "normal" guest on the 3rd floor. This was a great move . We turned on the fan and didn't hear a thing all night. Thank you !

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea C, Manager at Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking time to write about us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with your family and hope that we will see you again next time you are passing through our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    39
    27
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
21
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I am Marriott Platinum Elite, and stay at fairfields very often. This one is not up to the normal standards. The hotel is behind a mall, and not in a bad area, but it is not convenient to walk to the mall or restaurants. The breakfast room was small and crowded. The elevator was filthy inside. The room was a tad smaller than usual, and the bath was small also. Halls had not been vacuumed, and carpets needed shampooing.

The bed was fine, the room was clean, and the noise level acceptable. However, if you are used to Fairfields that are newer, cleaner, and nicer, you will feel disappointed.

Also, as a Platinum member, I should have been upgraded to a king premium room, and was not (even though I asked). After check in, we were leaving to go out for a bite to eat, and I overheard the front desk clerk trying to talk a walk-in customer into the king mini-suite....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea C, Manager at Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We take cleanliness very seriously and will be addressing your housekeeping issues in our public areas to our housekeeping team in order to ensure that they are well maintained. We also apologize that you weren't given a complimentary upgrade if it was available and will address this with the front desk staff. Thank you for your feedback and we will use it to make our team more productive and effecient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tobeor82b
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The actual hotel was located at 949 Viewmont Dr in Scranton. The bed was soft and the room was clean. The people at the front desk were extremely helpful. Coming into the hotel with baggage is a little tough as you have to open a single pain door and manuever your luggage in the door. The breakfast was ok, not great. Overall this is below what I expect of Marriott Hotels and Fairfield Inns I have stayed at in the past. but it is an older hotel, so was kept clean which was very nice. You get free WFI which is very helpful when traveling and free parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea C, Sales Coordinator at Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We take great pride in delivering superb customer service and ensure that we keep our cleanliness expectations high. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Pleasantly surprised with this hotel! 12 hour driving day, looked to stay in Scranton without any solid plans as to where we would stay. We vaguely knew the area around the mall from a previous trip, so we started there, browsing hotel listings on a smartphone. Found this hotel on Expedia for 20% off for the night, so we took it. Pleasantly surprised to find out that it was right behind the mall we were sitting in, and was very clean upon arrival. Typically we stay in hotels on the lower side of pricey, this one fell into an average price, which meant we were again surprised by the cleanliness of the room and the HD tv. Breakfast in the morning was simple, but not poorly done. Staff was retrieving more waffle batter for diners even a few minutes past the listed end of breakfast hours. Very pleasant staff. We did not use the pool but it looked very clean and all of the chairs were organized. The beds in our room were very comfortable, and we didn't hear a sound from surrounding rooms during our stay.
If this hotel was further into our return trip, we would definitely stay on our way back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea C, Sales Coordinator at Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're happy that you had a pleasant experience with us and hope that you stay with us next time you need a room in Northeastern Pennsylvania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Had a two day stay at this hotel.....excellent choice....clean rooms, nice pool, excellent staff....great continental breakfast.
located almost in a mall....so there is lots to do.....many restaurant choices.. I would return if I were in the area again. Felt hotel was very safe!!

Room Tip: Second floor was a good choice for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea C, Sales Coordinator at Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your response! We take pride in keeping our cleanliness standards high. We hope you will stay with us the next time you are in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Marriott brand has always been my first choice of hotels when I travel for the simple reason that it is clean. I've stayed at the JW Marriott right down to their low budget hotel like the Fairfield Inn and Townplace Suites and all seem to have the same standards of cleanliness. Rooms smelled fresh, clean and up to date. Pleakfast was Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches among other items. Not a bad band for your buck. Don't use the directions from the website to get here, they are wrong from 81 South. There is also some construction and detours. A bit of a pain to find, especially if one is tired and arriving late.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea C, Sales Coordinator at Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for you review! We are happy that you found your stay comfortable and will look into getting correct directions on our website!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

A typical older Fairfield Inn, no surprises there, but despite very pleasant and helpful front desk staff, the hotel could do no better than an overall average due to a much needed overhaul and refurbishing.
In particular, the base of the bath tub was so worn out that where you would stand for a shower looked permanently stained, so much so that my wife refused to stand on it. Half of the painted veneer on the edge of the bathroom door was missing and the bare wood was exposed. This stay was basically just a place to sleep for the one night and at least the bed was comfortable.
On the plus side, despite the flaws, housekeeping seemed to do a decent job of having the room well kept. The television was very clear and had good definition.
There's an indoor pool, which although we did not use, the water looked very clear. The complimentary breakfast was adequate, while the staff were very cordial and did a good job keeping the area clean.
The location of the hotel is well situated in a large shopping area with a mall, several strip malls and the usual assortment of "big box stores". Plus there are enough restaurants within a five minute drive to satisfy any appetites for a week or more. There's also a large IMAX movie theatre
about a mile away just off the same road next to Kohl's.
Someone said they heard the hotel was undergoing refurbishing, if so future reviews might reflect that. Until then, just an average room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DicksonCity, Manager at Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for you review. We do work hard to upkeep our hotel. We will follow up with maintenance issues such as the ones you have listed. I do apologize for the tub surface being worn off. We do make sure all the tubs are cleaned. I am glad that you found the staff helpful and pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott

Address: 949 Viewmont Drive, Scranton, PA 18519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Scranton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott welcomes you with excellent amenities and always-friendly service with a smile. We're conveniently located, within miles of major highways and over 50 restaurants, shops, and other attractions. Business travelers have made us one of the go-to hotels in the Scranton, PA area for our close proximity to the Oil and Gas region, major healthcare facilities such as CHS, Alliance Global, TMG, Geisinger and other major companies! Likewise, leisure guests love to stay at Scranton Fairfield Inn for a convenient rest near popular attractions: NBC's "The Office" Tour, Viewmont Mall, Steamtown National Historic Site and Mohegan Sun Casino. When you're ready to relax, do so in our spacious rooms complete with luxury bedding, free Wi-Fi and premium Satellite channels on 32" flat screen TVs. Start each morning with our newly expanded free hot breakfast, now featuring scrambled eggs, breakfast bacon or sausage, fresh fruit, Dannon yogurt and more. You'll also enjoy an indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scranton Fairfield Hotel Dickson City
Fairfield Dickson City
Fairfield Inn Dickson City
Scranton Fairfield Inn
Dickson City Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scranton Fairfield Inn by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.