We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hey Pete!-This is a no repeat!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton

Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton to your Saves list
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton
320 Franklin Avenue, Scranton, PA 18503 (Formerly Howard Johnson)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hey Pete!-This is a no repeat!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Ugh...! This is a perfect example of people managing a facility who have poor quality standards. The rooms were quite dated, Bathtub riddled with cigarete burns, the shower head was a super water saver type, no dirt remavl with this. The morning breakfast consisted of yesterday's milk and OJ, being 1/3 filled @ openoing time 7:00A.M.

The morning staff was in the middle of a Hindu ceromony~9:00, I had to wait, received no answer for directions. This is not a place to be not alone stay...It's obvious the regional manager does not stop in for a visit.

Go on find anothe rplace for your happy head...mine has a headache from here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property and for showing us your perspective. We try very hard to keep our property nice, while keeping our prices as low as possible, but it makes it very hard when inconsiderate guests damage our property. We will do our best to have the nicest property possible at the most reasonable price possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    6
    8
    17
See reviews for
6
10
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Make sure you have cash on you, because there is a $50 cash only security deposit required at check-in. Once we got to the room, we saw how sketchy and run down the back of the hotel looks like, the bath tub had mildew and was very dirty, there was a dead beetle body under my comforter, at breakfast, there were ants crawling around the pastries, and there was a couple having sex in the pool. Not recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and I'm terribly sorry that you did not find your stay more pleasant. The conditions that you state are unacceptable and I have instructed our housekeeping and maintenance staff to go through all back rooms with a fine tooth comb. I trust that the next time you stay with us will be much more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked this room at the last minute mainly because the it cost half as much as the other 2 hotels nearby (the Radisson and Hilton). Between the low prices and the negative reviews, we were definitely worried that it was not going to be a good experience, but we were most definitely wrong! From the outside it looked like it could go either way; neither fancy nor rundown, and the place felt pretty safe. The prices were excellent, the room was VERY clean (much cleaner than the other 2, more expensive rooms we've stayed in during our trip). The furnishing didn't look new but everything was well maintained and was more than adequate for our purposes. The staff was polite and helpful, and Wifi worked just fine. They were also flexible and let us have a late checkout at no cost. Use common sense and pick somewhere else if you are looking for a 4 star hotel with mints on the pillows, but if you are looking for a clean, safe, comfortable place to stay then I highly suggest the Red Carpet Inn!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dharmacorp, Public Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your kindly honest comments. Our main goal is to keep price for the hotel room rental affordable while providing a clean and comfortable place to spend a night. Our downtown location adds value for money if one prefer to stay closer to downtown life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersham, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

As a city Scranton hasn't discovered how to appeal to visitors. The downtown area is missing good options for dining and relaxing, especially for people who have come to visit the National Park's Steamtown.

This motel certainly did not offer anything other than a very low rate. It certainly deserves a low rating. My first "nonsmoking" room smelled like it had been used for an episode of Madmen - it absolutely reeked of tobacco. The second room was better, but not perfectly odor free. The desk clerk was not helpful with our difficulty accessing their WiFi link.

All in all, as W. C. Fields said, I'd rather be in Philadelphia!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I'm very sorry that you were not very pleased with our property or our area. I have warned our housekeeping staff to be more attentive to their work, especially if they find someone has smoked in a nonsmoking room. As for your issues with our internet, we have recently upgraded our system and continue to work to improve it. Our front desk staff are limited in what they can do fix all issues that may come up, but they have been instructed to report any issues to our technician so that we can continue to improve our system. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope you will give us and Scranton another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittston, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was not intending to stay in Scranton but that's what occurred. I searched for a motel that I could drive up to and unload, since my SUV was loaded to the gills. That's the one reason I drove the 10-15 miles from Pittston PA.
On a Friday night I was scrambling and so I settled and accepted the circumstances.The room was dark even with the lights on. To add to that experience, the stationary light stopped working. I tried replacing the bulb but it was the light itself. Old, cheap furnishing.
The bathroom and toilet in particular had seat stains underneath. I was concerned about bed bugs and so I slept with sweats on. I used my own pillow. The bed was decent but I was exhausted from a trying day. They do offer a breakfast bar. It is the low cost, low quality variety.
Summation: Dirty, Low Quality, with old furnishing. Depressing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Red Carpet Inn & Suites, Scranton. I'm deeply sorry that you were dissatisfied with our property. We take your criticism to heart and will do our best to make the necessary improvements and updates to our property. I have shared your remarks with both our housekeeping and maintenance departments. Again, I would like to apologize and thank you for letting us know how to better serve your needs and meet the expectations of future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in August during a trip to the States to see a band nearby. We got the Greyhound to Scranton and this place wasn't too far a walk from the station. It is in a quiet area of town, but we did not feel unsafe. The rooms are ok, we didnt leave with any bites, and it was adequate to sleep in. Yes it's not the most well kept hotel, but we were on a budget. The staff there are very unhelpful, they couldnt help us with a taxi service or direct us to the nearest internet cafe. But as it turns out the whole town only had 2 computers for public use in one cafe and one taxi service that despite driving around the town, no one knew about. Taxis are incredibly expensive here, so best to drive. I would only stay here again if I really really couldnt afford the hilton in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your past stay at the Red Carpet Inn & Suites, Scranton. We continually strive to give our guests a comfortable stay at a reasonable price. The information that you share allows us to see our operation from your perspective and make improvements where needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay here. Room was clean and comfortable with all the normal amenities, frig, hair dryer, iron, coffee maker etc. Breakfast was included and we expected the normal continental of fruit, donuts, rolls, muffins and so on but were pleasantly surprised with a hot breakfast that included scrambled eggs and make your own waffles that were delicious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton

Address: 320 Franklin Avenue, Scranton, PA 18503 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn And Suites Scranton
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton Hotel Scranton
Red Carpet Inn Scranton
Scranton Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.