We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   947 Viewmont Drive, Scranton, PA 18519   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Breckenridge, CO
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is one of the friendliest hotels I have stayed in. The staff has gone above our typical hotel experience to make the stay nice. We arrive late with sleepy kids. Samantha checked us in and walked us too our room with additional linen to help out. She even offered to make the pull out for the kids before leaving! The managers and staff have greeted us each time we walk by with a smile and hurrying to help open doors. When I needed to print boarding passes the computer was not working, an employee left his desk in his office to allow me to print passes. The hotel is clean and standard Residence Inn. The breakfast was clean and good. Fairly standard with an extra bit of attention to make it a nice meal.
I am still impressed by the service though because it is rare to see all around great customer service from everyone encountered in a business. One negative is staff sitting in the courtyard smoking. Though unappealing, I did not smell the smoke.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    34
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
42
13
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011 via mobile

This Inn is hard to find and the roads getting there are poorly maintained and marked. That said, it's not the Inns fault but the Inn's location is still hard to find but it is pet friendly, the staff nice, and there are numerous food options close to it.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxembourg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

For a Residence Inn ok, studios very spacy but for the bathroom, I am missing a wastebin in the bathroom, there is only one in the kitchen.The bathtub has a black bottom it looks dirty, the one in our 2nd room as well, so they need to be replaced. Except for these critics, breakfast was as expected, staff very friendly. No extra benefit for gold/platinum Marriott member as larger room. Recommend for transit place to stay as there is not very much else to do in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011 via mobile

The hotel was fairly nice, spacious rooms, comfortable weekend. Our room was quite from hotel noise but on our side there was a lot of road noise fro Rt 81. Service was good and friendly. We needed to use the fold out sofa but there was no linens or blankets. Beds were comfortable. Pool was nice but the jets on the spa did not work. The location was a bit tricky to find the first time even with the gps. Lots of restaurants close by. Overall it was nice, good but not great.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We were in need of sleep -- breaking up a 10 hour drive with an overnight here. Accommodating staff at 10 pm check-in without a reservation. Two bedroom suite was comfortable and although we didn't make use of the kitchen facility, it would have been nice if we had been staying longer. Great breakfast in the morning got us going for the next leg of our journey. Bed was softer than we are used to but room was quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRKEvans, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
Thank you for your kind feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed here after visiting the Claws n Paws Wild Animal Park and I tried to find something amiss after reading some of these less than glowing reviews and I couldn't find anything to complain about. I would have given it a 5, but I did wake up a couple times during the night due to the highway traffic outside, though clearly the hotel can't help where it's located. Also, I couldn't get the hi speed internet to work, but that was just as likely to be my fault because I am technologically challenged. The place was spotless, all of the employees were pleasant beyond any reasonable expectation, the pool was just the right temperature, the breakfast was fantastic (and wasn't just pastries, but actual food, such as eggs, biscuits, pancakes). The rooms have kitchens with utensils, plates and basic cooking implements, which came in handy for our fancy microwave frozen meal dinner. There was a restaurant right across the parking lot, but we were too tired to stop in. I also noted that Scranton features a number of interesting-looking ghost walks, but I had my 5 year old with me, so I didn't get to partake of those.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRKEvans, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
Thank you for your kind feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Booked this hotel when the Scranton Hilton was sold out for one of the nights of our visit. We had high hopes - free parking, breakfast and internet made the steep price (for this area) of $159 seem like decent value. HOWEVER, it was not and we had to check out early. In short: the beds were terrible, way too soft, we both woke up with backaches. Asked at the front desk to move to a room with a better mattress and was told by the night clerk that the hotel was due for renovations but it would still be 2 years before they would get new matresses. The room was too cramped. One bedroom suite description on the internet sounds good, but just wait until you get in there with a few pieces of luggage and a few people.. there was no room left to breathe. The room furnishings were well worn and all needed replacement. The shower curtain had mold on it and I had to ask for a new one. My allergies started up shortly afterwe arrived and now 2 weeks later I am still having allergy problems. I am linking it to the mold int he room because I am especially sensitive to mold. The only visible mold was in the bathroom, but there could have been more. The whole hotel smelled musty. The breakfast was mediocre, not bad, but not worth going to this hotel for.
The hotel does not have a bellman, which usually isnt a big deal for me but my husband and I were travelling with our baby and due to fligth delays we arrived at 2 am and had to drag all our luggage ourselves. We ended up checking out early and going to the Scranton Hilton for $89/night. Which, even when you add in $10/day parking and breakfast (the Hilton has a nice cafe in the lobby which serves GOOD coffee) was a MUCH BETTER deal for a MUCH NICER hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaRKEvans, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Thank you for your feedback, please know I have addressed all of your concerns with my team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton

Address: 947 Viewmont Drive, Scranton, PA 18519
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Scranton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover award-winning service and convenience at the favorite extended stay hotel- the Scranton Residence Inn! Our superior location is only a few miles from major highways and over 50 restaurants, shops and entertainment destinations. In addition, our hotel is in the heart of Northeastern PA's Oil and Gas region and only minutes from many healthcare facilities including CHS, Geisinger, TMG, and Allied. You'll feel right at home with complimentary perks that include daily hot American breakfast buffet and a social hour three nights a week featuring light fare and beer. Guests enjoy access to our 24-hour fitness and business centers, indoor pool, and grocery shopping service. Our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and free Wi-Fi. We're pet friendly, too! Are you a frequent Marriott guest? Take advantage of the exclusive Marriott Rewards Program. Whether traveling for work or play, make the smart choice of extended-stay hotels in Scranton, PA - Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Scranton Hotel Scranton
Residence Inn Dickson City
Dickson City Residence Inn
Scranton Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.