We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Montage Mountain Rd., Scranton, PA 18507   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Scranton
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Nice Place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at the Comfort Suites in Scranton, PA. Service was very good. Stephanie one of the desk managers was very helpful in making sure that our stay was pleasant. If I had to chose again I would definitely chose this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thanks for your nice comments. I know that Stephanie will appreciate what you had to say about her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    58
    24
    9
    10
See reviews for
63
37
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waldorf, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here twice during the holidays en route to visits with both of our families. Liz checked us in quickly and explained all the services such as pool, breakfast, game room, and local restaurants and entertainment. Whenever we were coming in or leaving she always had a friendly greeting and asked how the room was and whether we needed anything she could help with. The second stay was not planned, as we were on the road to return home but a snowstorm had iced over the Interstate where we were in traffic at a crawl going one mile for over an hour. We called in and thankfully, the staff on duty found us a room last minute for that night. Got quickly checked out the next morning ate breakfast-pretty good! and on our way home. Definitely helped us both visiting our families and saved us hours in bad weather on the interstate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you Dan. I'm glad that my staff has made you holiday travel a little brighter. I'll be sure to tell Liz that her efforts are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have been coming to this hotel for the past 3 months, and it has become like a second home. The girls on the front desk are the friendliest around. Jenna is always so pleasant and always ready to lend a hand with anything you need. The lead housekeeper, Margaret does a fantastic job at keeping the crew working and making the hotel shine. Great place for the money, and like I said, they really make you feel at home here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment on our staff. I'll be sure to pass along your comments to Margaret and Jenna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I was in town for a bridal shower. Liz was super helpful when we checked in after a long day. Great value. Breakfast was good too. Convenient location right off the highway. There's a bar restaurant really close by also.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thanks Katie. We appreciate your taking the time to write a review. I know Liz will appreciate what you had to say as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Everything was beautiful here! Delightful, friendly staff; lovely, comfortable, roomy accomodations. Delicious, plentiful, hot breakfast. 24/7 complimentary coffee & tea. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We like it when guests are pleasantly surprised! Thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

i stayed here 2 days and was surprised how run down this property was, when u walk in looks nice in lobby area at 1st glance , I sat in chair near patio found it was worn out large chandeliers look great till u see peeling paint in ceiling,room was same chair had hole in it,furniture was outdated, staff was nice breakfast was normal items,grounds were nice ,but it is also isolated a restaurant was once in parking lot had closed ,close to a mile to mall area for food ,,phone didn't work by bed,my room wwas smaller than oter comfort suites I stayed at, need to look around see what I mean before getting a room

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We checked in and it all went downhill from there. When we got to our room, we couldn't get an internet connection. When we tried to call the front desk, the phone by the bed wasn't working and was filthy. I tried the other phone and while that problem was being discussed, my husband used the bathroom. Too much water in the toilet and the sink drain was very slow. That led to more discussions with the front desk. The manager apparently told the desk clerk that we should wait and a maintenance person would fix things. In addition to all the other problems, the room was dirty so we asked to be switched to another room.

It seemed like the manager still thought the best solution was to have things repaired but finally agreed to move us. Someone came up with the keys to the room next door and we moved our luggage. She left and a few minutes later we left and closed the door only to find out the keys didn't work.

They came up with new keys and as we were getting ready to leave, Beverly, the sales director, came up and asked if things were ok. Well, this room wasn't any cleaner than the first room. (someone should check the window ledge and wipe it down!) The hotel is old and tired and apparently the housekeeping staff has pretty much given up.

Beverly said she would move us to yet another room so we grabbed the luggage and off we went. This room had a king instead of two queens. So with luggage in hand we moved onward to the fourth and thank heavens the final room. By this point all we wanted to do was to park our luggage in a room and go to dinner where we could have an adult beverage and at least temporarily forget the hotel.

We finally were getting settled in the fourth room to discover the internet connection wasn't working. That continued to be a problem off and on during our entire stay. Also the refrigerator had what looked like a white towel stuffed in the freezer compartment. Whoops - that's not a towel, that's ice! Someone forgot to defrost the freezer.

As I write this there is still a question about the charge on our credit card and I called them to clarify how it will be handled. The desk clerk said we'd have to wait a few days to make sure it is handled correctly.

Beverly and the people at the desk were as helpful as they could be but all the help in the world isn't going to out weigh the fact that the hotel is old and desperately in need of remodeling. We travel quite a bit and have stayed in many hotels so we have many other properties to compare this to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 44 Montage Mountain Rd., Scranton, PA 18507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Scranton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Scranton
Comfort Suites Scranton
Scranton Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.