We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Montage Mountain Road, Scranton, PA 18507   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I always stay at Hamptons or Hiltons, but this one was not a good experience. I arrived late at night. I asked about any restaurants in the area that might still be open (even fast food). I was referred to a gas station. Since there are no restaurants around late at night, the hotel should provide a small convenience shop in their hotel like most other Hampton's do. They have microwaves in the room, but no food. When I approached my room, the door was ajar. As a woman travelling alone, I was not comfortable entering the room. As I headed back down to the lobby, I noticed that other room doors were ajar. This is a serious security risk. The desk clerk changed my room promptly. When I arrived in the room, I noticed a badly patched hole in the wall. The whole room has a grungy feel. When I sat down at the desk, I almost flipped backwards out of the chair. The back was broken. Perhaps worse of all, I asked for a wake up call which I never received. even though the desk clerk wrote it down. I was late getting to my destination. The hotel clerk only offered a "sorry 'bout that." He noted the other things, but didn't even look up at me. The "business center" was a small desk in the busy lobby. It wouldn't take much at all to bring this place up to Hampton standards (a better attitude would go a long way). Until then, I won't be back here.

Room Tip: Head 10 minutes farther down the road to another Hampton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    99
    33
    18
    10
See reviews for
108
83
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastport, Maine
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hote was easily accessed off I81. The hotel and room were modern and beautiful. The breakfast in the morning was excellent. The hotel provided a list of local restaurants in the area some of which included a moderate ride into the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Robert,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again next time you pass through the Scranton area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Great place to stop, right off interstate. Rooms were quiet, clean, and everything works quietly. Not our first time here and we looked forward to this stop on our travels. Staff is above average and very friendly and will talk about non hotel things with you. They make you feel very welcome. Everyone, from the front desk to housekeeping are great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Brian,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are glad that you enjoy our property and had a good experience. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again next time you travel to the Scranton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

It seems that asking for hot water is a difficult task for the Montage Mountain staff. They'd rather socialize with each other than provide a simple service. At least Joe the maintenance person was kind enough to solve this minor problem--and a hot cup of tea was enjoyed after a 5h drive. Not sure we'll go back because we got poor service last time as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay with us. We do apologize that there was not hot water available for you upon check-in. I have addressed this issue with our team and made the proper changers to assure this doesn't happen again. We hope that you do give us another chance in the future to provide you the service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

got what expected of the Hampton Inn brand, good value, clean room. Lots of travelling kids sports team staying there. Made for a bit of chaos in the breakfast area. But that's on the parents, not the hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Heidi,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate the business and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Hotel was very clean and staff was super friendly and helpful. Love that the pool is open late. It was very easy to get to, and there are many place to eat. Lobby is very nice with coffee,tea and hot chocolate all day long. I recommend this hotel to anyone staying in this area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Lisa,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and writing a review! We are glad that you enjoyed our property and got to use some of the amenities, including the pool. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The hotel and night clerk were A+. Coming from late meeting2 and after a long drive in for my next appt the following day this hotel is by far the best Hampton and Hilton I have ever stayed at. The hotel was the cleanest, nicest one I have seen to date and I have seen many since I travel for business. What made this hotel exceptional was the night clerk that is there every night and seems to love his job. The experience of how he greeted, how I was treated, sharing information about the area was far beyond anything I have ever seem at any chain. If they could clone him I would have to say Hampton/Hilton would not have any competition. Love this place and would definitely come again due to how I was treated !!!!!!!! Would recommend for anyone to stay at this location over any other chains but would even go a bit out of my way to stay where I am treated as good as I was!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Penny,

Thank you for such a kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our property and that our staff went above and beyond for you. I will be sure to share your comments with our team! We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit the Scranton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain

Address: 22 Montage Mountain Road, Scranton, PA 18507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Scranton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between the Allegheny Mountains and the Pocono Mountains, our Hampton Inn® hotel in Scranton at Montage Mountain is just a mile from one of the most popular ski slopes in the Northeast. In fact, you can even watch skiers on Sno Mountain from our warm and cozy lobby. Reserve a room with a mountain view and fireplace here at the Hampton Inn hotel in Scranton at Montage Mountain, and you'll have a recipe for a vacation you'll never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scranton At Montage Mountain Hotel Scranton
Scranton Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Montage Mountain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.