We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place to your Saves list
Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Monarch Place, Springfield, MA 01144   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Springfield
derby line, vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A little disappointed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

It was a little confusing how to park and check in and how to receive free parking. We were disappointed that the pool was cold and the jacuzzi wasn't working. There was no place to eat except for a sports bar that we weren't interested in. We traveled to West Springfield to find a place to eat. On the other hand, the room was nice, clean and modern. We travel to the Springfield area several times a year. We will give it another chance. However, if the same problems exist, we probably will not try it again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    114
    93
    47
    28
See reviews for
113
66
18
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

The prospect of staying at a Sheraton in downtown Springfield - a city with a less than exciting reputation - is likely to lower one's expectations. Still, there is much to be said about this accommodation, not the least of which is its attention to quality service and comfortable business rooms. In short, don't let Springfield's gray reputation keep you from sampling this centrally-located Sheraton.

The Sheraton Springfield is located directly across the street from the Marriott, both of which are a very short drive from the city's top year-round tourist attraction, the Basketball Hall of Fame. But whereas the Marriott was charging about $175 per overnight, the Sheraton's rate was a most appealing $125. (Membership to AAA allowed my wife and I to secure this rate.) Surprisingly, the Sheraton has much to offer in this price category, including newly-renovated business rooms, an in-hotel restaurant, pub, an underground and safe parking garage, and much more.

As regards our room, we were situated on the eleventh floor, a room that featured fine views of the Springfield skyline. There was a very roomy and comfortable king-sized bed, large flat-screen TV, and two over-sized and relaxing chairs. While the room lacked a mini-bar, it did feature a first-rate coffee service, with Starbucks coffee on tap. This was a very nice feature. Another plus was the room's styling, featuring warm, attractive colors, and not the usual scheme that too often seems conventional and sterile. While Sheraton touts its recent multi-million dollar renovation program, our room wasn't without a few minor shortcomings, including a toilet that didn't flush very well, a closet sliding door that was in need of attention, and an overall lighting scheme that seemed uneven. Still, our room in general was most comfortable and inviting.

What distinguishes the Sheraton Springfield above all else is its service. Kudos to both management and staff for its friendly and helpful outlook. From our initial introductions, at the front desk, to the wait staff at the breakfast room and the referee jersey-attired waiter at the in-house pub, the service was first-rate. Service alone would lead me back to this hotel.

As to dining, the Sheraton does offer an in-house restaurant and the previously mentioned pub. As we arrived too late in the evening to sample the restaurant, we did have a light meal and a few drinks at the pub. As noted, the service was top-notch, and the pub, though rather small and uninspired in appearance, does have a good selection of beer on draft. This was a nice complement to a tasty and satisfying mushroom burger.

As to breakfast, the Sheraton charges $12.50 per person. It's not at all a bad deal, as the menu features a wide selection of hot and cold food, everything from scrambled eggs, freshly baked breads, fruit, Starbucks coffee, and more. A cook is also on duty to take orders for freshly-made omelets. The breakfast room is very attractive, and my wife and I appreciated the fact that the buffet section of the dining area was located in a separate area, thus avoiding the overall look of a cafeteria. This is just another example of Sheraton trying to distinguish itself from the general sameness that all too often pervades mid-priced chain hotels.

While Springfield, MA is by no means a magnet for the discriminating tourist, the Sheraton in this city seems to have done its part to move tourism in a positive and welcoming direction. Well done, Sheraton!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

My only gripe--and for all hotels--is that they charge for internet ($10/day) This is particularly inconvenient for those who are not travelling on the company expense account. If Econolodges (some very nice) charge $50 for the room and FREE internet why should a $150/night hotel hit you for another $10?!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

The only restaurant open during our stay was the sports bar, which had popcorn all over the floor. We ended up going to the Marriott next door for dinner, had a wonderful experience, and seriously wished we had stayed there instead.

In addition to the restaurant issue: The front desk staff was unfriendly, there was no bell person on duty, the color of the open spaces and the rooms was dark and uninviting, the entire hotel smelled old and musty, it was very unclear where reception was located when driving in, and despite there only being a handful of guests in the hotel, we were placed next to two rooms that had rowdy men who woke us up at 2am while loudly discussing in the hall what type of hooker they were going to purchase for the night. The security came loudly knocking and shouting through their doors at almost 3am, but they had already left for their adventure.

This is without a doubt the worst Sheraton I have ever stayed at. It is a blight to the quality and service level one expects from the brand.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon_Mgt, General Manager at Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
We are sorry about tour experience at our hotel. In terms of the apearance ownership has made 5Million in improvements per Starwood guidelines, the colors are Sheraton branded colors, we have scent dispensers all over the hotel. The two men unfortunately were offensive , we have security and they neededto address the men.We are sorry that your experience was not consistent with our standards.

Warm Regards
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Springfield hotels

Montreal
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Spent a night here with my wife this month as we were in town for the Anthony Bourdain show at the Symphony Hall (located on the next block). We were very pleasd with our experience. I was a little concerned as to what to expect based on previous reviews, but was very pleased upon arrival. We were put in a "renovated room" with view of the river (although that also implies a view of I-91). The room was indeed fully renovated - new carpet, new bathroom tiles, new bath, new vanity, furniture, curtains, lamps, etc - it was a very nice Sheraton room - absolutely no complaints. The TV was large, flat-screen, with lots of channels. The shower had lots of hot water and good pressure. Towels were like new.

The hotel is atrium style, but we didn't hear any noise throughout the night, from our 7th floor room. We could hear the white noise created from being close to the highway, but to be honest this was mostly muffled by the A/C fan and was not a concern.

Located right in downtown Springfield - could be a good or a bad thing depending on your needs. It was perfect for us as we were attending a show at the (gorgeous) Symphony Hall, but there wasn't a ton to do around the hotel. Downtown Springfield has limited shopping and dining, but we did really enjoy our dinner at nearby Cafe Lebanon. Easy on/off access to I-91 and no-hassle self-parking for $9.95 (indoor).

We were very pleased with our experience - nice rooms, quiet, and a very friendly staff - and the price was reasonable, too. Would not hesitate to recommend. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon_Mgt, General Manager at Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Thank you so much for recognizing the efforts we have put forth to improve our hotel. The capital improvements were 5M ;and we are so happy you enjoyed your visit to our city. We hope you visit again soon.

Warm Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Spent one night in Springfield to visit the Indian Musuem. We selected Sheraton and for $89.00 I was amazed. Friendly customer service...Nicely appointed rooms with very comfy beds and pillows.

Enjoyed a great breakfast the following morning in one of the two restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Starwood's recent investment in upgrading Sheratons and the responses by management to negative reviews here weighed in my decision to stay at this Sheraton rather than at the Marriott directly across the street. While the staff seems friendly, the hotel wasn't prepared for full occupancy. The lines at check-in and in the restaurant were long even though there seemed to be a lot of staff around. When I wasn't acknowledged as an elite Starwoods member in any way, I knew something was odd about the staff's training. As for the facility itself, I might have been in a room that wasn't yet upgraded. The maids definitely kept it very tidy, but the decor was dark and rather depressing. On the plus side, the hotel has a lovely view of a classic bridge over the bridge and is close to a charming historic park.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place

Address: One Monarch Place, Springfield, MA 01144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springfield's largest hotel, The Sheraton Springfield Monarch Place Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city, just minutes away from several of Springfield's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Springfield At Monarch Place Hotel Springfield
Sheraton Monarch Place
Springfield Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.