We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place to your Saves list
Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Monarch Place, Springfield, MA 01144   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Springfield
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Such a Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was a little nervous about staying here but the hotel has been awesome! I work at another Starwood property so I got a discount on the rate. The hotel lobby is so wonderful. The lady at the front desk was super friendly and although our original room wasn't ready, she moved us to a room that was ready. We just ordered room service and the food was amazing. Daniel who delivered our food was very friendly. And the beds...super comfortable!

There are only a few things that put a damper on things: Internet is about $10 per day and to park is $12.95. Some of the furniture in the room looks a little warn but over all, it is such a great stay!

If we ever come up this way again for Six Flags, we'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear valued guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with me as well as all of the future travelers. I an pleased that you found your stay and our property warm and inviting, we hope that you will return. I will also share your great feedback with our culinary team and our room service server Daniel who takes great pride in his work and receives positive feedback often.
we hope to see you back should your travels bring you back to the Springfield area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    123
    94
    48
    30
See reviews for
114
70
19
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked our hotel stay through Hotwire.com. We were specifically asked how many people were staying in the room and their ages which we listed (myself, my wife and 2 children). When we checked in today at the front desk they said the only room available was a room with ONE king size bed and that they could only give us ONE roll out bed. Therefore, I had to sleep on the floor. Terrible. They 'upgraded' us to the 'club' level on the 12th floor (of 12 floors). Our room (1212) was situated right next to the 'club room'. We were all awoken at midnight by 30 minutes of LOUD vacuuming in the club room. I complained about this to the front desk, they said they would call up and have the vacuuming stopped. It didn't. It went on for another 30 minutes. ----other complaints---the hotel charges nearly $10 bucks a day for wi-fi...that's a total joke and ripoff, no explanation required. They charge $12.95 to park your car overnight. This is NOT Boston or NYC, this is SPRINGFIELD, MA!!! I have read many reviews from the manager saying there are restaurants in the walking area...NOT TRUE. Walk one block to the right or left and your walking into the projects. Very disappointed, I am calling corporate offices after we get home from six-flags tomorrow.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing with me your experience while staying with us Hotwire as with most 3rd party resellers do not have accurate inventories of hotel rooms and when requiring specific room arrangements, it is always best to work through the hotel directly. Third party resellers can not make specific promises on room types.

I am sorry you were disturbed by the cleaning of our club lounge. I will review this with our associates whom are responsible and purchase a carpet sweeper so rooms that are on either side of the lounge will not be disturbed.

As with many hotels located in the center of a City (not just Boston or New York) parking spaces is a business. We unfortunately do not own the garage , but have negotiated a discounted rate on behalf of our guests which is applied to ones folio and we are able to use the room key for unlimited in and out privileges.

Starwood as a brand has not moved towards free internet, we are looking at the ability to offer a tiered program.

As it relates to local restaurants, we certainly do have many wonderful offerings, Worthington Street is located just two blocks from the hotel in one direction and offers up to at least 4-6 different offerings. Just a few blocks in the other direction, we have several other options. If you up for a little walk, than near the Basket Ball Hall of Fame there are 4 more restaurants one which is an Uno's Chicago Grill.

I hope this information helps and as always, please feel free to contact me if I can be of further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Springfield hotels

Jay, Maine
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here for one night on my way to visit Niagara Falls. Let me start off by saying this hotel is beautiful. The architecture is so nice and the staff was very friendly. One thing though that disappointed me was that there are several hidden fees that you have to watch out for. We walked into our room and two bottles of water were sitting on the desk. I was a little thirsty so I picked one of the bottles up to drink it, then looked at the tag around it. It cost $2.99. There was no way I was paying for that so I put it down. Then I opened my laptop to check my Email as I had been traveling all day and was not able to access it. The wireless internet cost $9.99 a day. So I couldn't even use the internet. Even the cheapest hotels now give you free internet access. On top of all these fees, it costs $12.99 to park in a crowded parking garage. And watch out for what elevator you take up from the garage. We ended up in an office in the same building and the security came out and had to give us directions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear recent guest, thank you for the review of our hotel and I appreciate you sharing with me your feedback. We do charge for parking as we do not own the garage, the discounted rate is passed along to those who use it. Just including it in the rate would not be fair to those who do not park with us. As a brand, Sheraton has not done away with internet fees, we are looking at a tiered structure.

I am happy that overall you found the hotel warm and inviting and we hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed with several friends for a four day weekend convention in nearby Amherst. While this Sheraton isn't quite up to the Deluxe, high-end luxury at other Sheratons, it's a great place nonetheless. Our rooms were clean, the beds were comfy, and the service from the Maids to the Front Desk Staff and everyone else was exceptional. Some of the furnishings, like the desk and chest, were a bit worn, and the carpet was just beginning to show its age, but they were still good. The triangle shaped atrium was really nice, but it needed something to set it apart. Perhaps some green plants or flowers hanging down from the sides would give a more luxurious look.

I accidently left my iPhone charger and data cord in my room. I called them from home on Monday afternoon. They had it in Lost and Found and shipped it right out to me. I got it on Tuesday. Is that great service, or what?!

The Sheraton is located in a convenient location downtown, across the street from the Marriott, and right off Route 91.

Their only major shortcoming is the small, one level, basement garage. This serves not only the Hotel, but the businesses in the Commercial building attached. It's not nearly big enough. Its saving grace is that they will validate parking in the lot directing across the street, which is located below the highway. Parking is $11.95 per day. For the currently seemingly barren downtown Springfield, it's a bit steep. However, we got in Convention rate of $5.00 day, which again, includes the lot across the street, which we had to park in one night. That was not a bad deal at all.

Side Note: You can almost walk to the nearby Basketball Hall of Fame, which also has a ton of restaurants as well.

In summary, it's a great hotel, with a super staff and amenities.

Room Tip: For a nicer view, get a room from the eighth floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing with me as well as the TripAdvisor community about your experience. I am pleased you found the hotel and staff warm and inviting. We have a wonderful hotel in a fantastic City which has so much to offer from cultural, historical to family activities. We have many great restaurants in and around the hotel. Clearly our parking is a challenge, however we do what we can to make it easy for our guests. I thank you again and we hope to see you back when your travels bring you back to the Springfield area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Pros:
Attractive, well kept facility; clean, well appointed rooms.
Friendly, helpful staff
Location right off the highway in the center of town!

Cons:
Not enough parking to accomadate a full house. ( They use a lot across the street when needed )
Atrium style tends to be a little noisy

Would definitely go back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear recent guest, I thank you for sharing your experience with me. We are thrilled that you enjoyed yourself and look forward to having you back. Our parking can be a challenge but we make it as easy as possible. We also use an overflow lot located across from the hotel which is connected by an covered air-walk. We offer guests the ability to unload at the lobby and then park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis Port, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel for one night to go to Six Flags. Booked through Priceline and got a great deal. Parking garage was convenient directly below hotel with elevator to lobby and only $12 for the night. Room was on 6th floor across from vending machines, which surprisingly we didn't hear. Room was average sized, but clean. Decor was drab but modern.

Overall nice stay and would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing with me you experience while staying with us. We are pleased you enjoyed yourself and hope to have you back. Our housekeeping team works hard to ensure everything is perfect in the guest room as well as all of the public space. I appreciate you writing a TripAdvispr review so all of our future guests can see that we have a great hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I had to be in Springfield on two successive weekends. I booked La Quinta the first weekend based on it being ranked #1 on TripAdvisor. See my review of the truly awful La Quinta. However, the Sheraton was a pleasant surprise. It was $50 cheaper and quite, quite pleasant. The restaurant had good food and service and the bed was very comfortable. Despite a lively event going on in the lobby my room was very quiet (the hotel has an atrium around which all the rooms open,

Based on value for price this place is great.

Room Tip: There is a corridor that does not front on teh atrium. It is even quieter than the other rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing with me your experience while staying with us. I as well as the entire team are pleased you found the hotel warm and inviting.

We too feel the property is a tremendous value as we have a wonderful design, well appointed rooms and well trained associates.

We hope you will be our guest again, should your travels bring you back to the Springfield area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place

Address: One Monarch Place, Springfield, MA 01144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springfield's largest hotel, The Sheraton Springfield Monarch Place Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city, just minutes away from several of Springfield's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Springfield At Monarch Place Hotel Springfield
Sheraton Monarch Place
Springfield Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.