We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Springfield Marriott

Save Saved
You added Springfield Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Springfield Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Boland Way, Springfield, MA 01115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Springfield
Wallkill, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pretty bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed 138 days in a Marriott property in 2012, so I know of what I speak. For a Marriott branded property, this is pretty bad. Elevators don't work, parking lot is unsafe and expensive, rooms are very cramped, noisy with tiny bathrooms and a screamingly bad restaurant. The saving grace is the concierge lounge which is staffed with friendly and competent staff. This place is in urgent need of a management change. If you are a Marriott Rewards member, avoid this property since your status is meaningless. There are better options in the area with better rooms and amenities.

Room Tip: My tip is to check the better Hilton properties in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    80
    36
    15
    1
See reviews for
42
24
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed using rewards points so it was convenient. Lobby is nice. I thought the bathroom area was dated. Small vanity. Tub seemed high to try and get into. Beds were very comfortable. Someone left their room service tray outside their door-it was out there for most of the day. Fitness center needs disinfecting wipes for patrons to wipe the equipment after they use it. Pool is nice. I'm not happy that the only coffee available in the restaurant was Starbuck. I had to water it down with hot water. Someone at the front desk suggested I go to the DD kiosk in the mall. He was young, so I am letting that one go.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't sit overlooking the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is pretty underwhelming inside and out. It's hidden across the street from the Sheridon and above a parking lot. Inside, it's fine but the decor is tired / dated. My room was also fine but my colleagues had problems with their rooms not being clean. They also charge for Internet access - making it worse, my phone couldn't pick up a 3G signal inside the hotel. Bummer. The TV and channel selection were good, and let's face it, Springfield is not a "hopping" city.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This Marriott doesn't live up to the name. The lobby is pretty, but as Platinum members of Marriott, we were extremely disappointed in the room quality and the concierge lounge and staff. The lack of customer service was obvious. I'm not sure we would go back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here on business and as a Platinum rewards member, was provided a room on the concierge level. The hotel is clean and the concierge lounge was very nice. My room was really comfortable, the bed was great and the work area perfect for my trip. You park in the connecting city parking garage, which wasn't all that bad. Don't forget your room key or you won't be able to exit the garage. What I did notice was a consistent lack of warmth and friendliness from the staff. From the front desk, housekeeping and the concierge lounge, everyone was professional with a muted friendliness. The young man at the front desk asked "Can I help you?" nothing wrong with that. Most Marriott's will say good afternoon, welcome to the Springfield Marriott. How was your trip in? Are you staying with us tonight? Wonderful, can I have your last name? Thank you for being Platinum, etc. If management takes on this level of staff training, this Marriott will be a 5 star, the facility alone is excellent, but that extra attention would be terrific. I look forward to staying here again in the near future and giving it another go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Upon arriving I was immediately greeted with a smile and a Welcome to the Springfield Marriott, escorted to the front desk to a smiling young man ready to check me in. Quickly checked in and provided simple instructions on parking and the use of facilities. I was provided a brief explanation and map to the basketball hall of fame. During the meeting at the hotel the next day observed staff checking in on us regularly yet without being invasive the meeting. Clean facilities and super team of employees!

Room Tip: No real secrets, have not had a bad room. There is a courtyard to over look on one side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Marriott in Springfield, Massachusetts is clean and comfortable and welcoming. It is a "solid" Marriott in that it has all of the typical amenities you would expect. There is a nice little cafe in the lobby, too, and some healthy choices for a meal on the run.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Springfield Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Marriott

Address: 2 Boland Way, Springfield, MA 01115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Springfield Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Springfield Marriott hotel, near I-91 and I-90, is ideal for family vacations, business trips, and leisure travel. This Springfield, MA hotel is located near the Basketball Hall of Fame, Six Flags New England, the Dr. Seuss Memorial, the MassMutual Center, and other attractions. As the premier downtown Springfield, MA hotel, the Springfield Marriott offers 11,000 sq ft of newly renovated meeting space that is perfect for business, weddings, and social events of any size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Springfield Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Springfield Hotel Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springfield Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.