We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Wayne's Big Mamou

Chef Wayne's Big Mamou
53 Liberty Street, Springfield, MA 01103
413-732-1011
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 316 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
New York
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Monday night and it was packed. It's a small place though so come early. Food is terrific though service could be friendlier. Extremely cheap! One waitress is not enough to cover the entire place! There is really no ambiance and location a bit shady so park close, eat and go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    36
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“It looks like a lot of people will disagree with me”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went to Chef Wayne's tonight and were less than impressed. It's too small. Our table was super rickety. The corn bread was delicious. Everything else less so. I ordered the Avery Island Pasta, which claims to be spicy, but it seriously tasted like dish water smells. It had no flavor, and definitely wasn't spicy. My husband had the jambalaya which he thought was a bit bland, but otherwise okay, until he came across a shrimp with a human hair stuck in it. We also overheard someone ask a waitress where Chef Wayne was, and he apparently doesn't work weekends, so if you're hoping for his cooking, your out of luck. Perhaps Chef Wayne is a better chef than his weekend chef, I don't know, but I won't be going back to find out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BYOB and bring an appetitie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Small/cozy dining area and you can bring your own favorite adult beverage. The food is creole yumminess and I have many favorites that if I should just cut and paste the menu. Fried oysters, amazing cajun burger, jambalaya and a New Orleans pound cake are just a few of my favorites. Dress is casual... no need to dress up for the great food.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“its not new orleans”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Well some of the other reviews are a bit to high and the low ones are really toooooooo low.
This place is as expected an of the beaten path place to go eat at good prices. Nothing exceptional just well made food that was fresh. Had the jambalaya, nice shrimp (needed to be deveined) rice done right, sausage was cut a bit thin,and could have used a bit more of the sauce (which was made well).Had the oysters as an app (old term for appetizers) and the crab cakes, both were nice and not greasy. Had better but not at the price.It's a byob place, which if you are not driving is a great additiion.Wayne's is a good home cooking place where I would go to often if i lived close by.All the locals knew each other.NICE

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice and Spicy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Enjoyed the jambolaya and the small town feel of this little hole in the wall place last week. I always like to check TA before eating out in a new location and I wasn't disappointed by the top choice. Had the boulettes (which are really hush puppies) and sweet potato fries for appy. Both were delicious! Wish I knew how to make that remoulade sauce. Then had the sausage and shrimp jambalaya which was spicy and very filling. The chese topped bread made a nice balance for the heat of the stew.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Wayne's Big Mamou also viewed

 

Been to Chef Wayne's Big Mamou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Wayne's Big Mamou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.