We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ....only BBQ really ;)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Theodore's

Theodore's
201 Worthington St, Springfield, MA 01103
(413) 736-6000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 310 restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best BBQ....only BBQ really ;)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing. The Mac n cheese, pulled pork, ribs, oh the corn bread is tooooo die for. The down side to this place is it's location. I know they probably have ties to the city but I swear if they went into west side or Agawam I would be there once a week! I only get take out once and a whole bc parking is a hassle and it's just a scary neighborhood hands down....my husband is a cop and he also agrees its bad news! People get shot on Worthington more often then I'd like! Anyway- great food- glad they are #1 here!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    60
    29
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spot on BBQ, Bad Neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Since I don't frequent BBQ joints all that often, I felt compelled to only rate this joint "Very Good". However, this one ranks right up there with some of the best that I have eaten at. Since I'm a huge fan of short ribs, I ordered the rack of four. Holy cow, what an oxymoron, as these short ribs were long and big, not to mention juicy, tender, and full of taste. In fact, everything I ordered was spot on. I would, however, be doing this review an injustice if I did not mention that this restaurant is in a "bad" part of town and I would not recommend late night visits. If you can get past that one deterrent, you'll have yourself a good ol' meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Place to spend the Afternoon - Retirement Party or Just a Get Together”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Friends from the school I work at recently held my retirement party in the 'Back Room'. There was plenty of space for eating, drinking, moving around and visiting. There are also 2 pool tables in this area. There was a bar with a bartender and lots of place to socialize and have a lot of good fun..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good barbecue with a great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten a lot of barbecue and the place was as good as any of them. Pulled pork was delicious and homemade sauces were outstanding. Three different sauces included a sweet bourbon, a spicy chipotle and a vinegary Carolina mustard. Good sides and sweet tea finished it off.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best BBQ; Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have traveled all over the country and have eaten BBQ at many locations throughout the South and Midwest. I was surprised to find the best BBQ I have experienced in an establishment in the northeast. Theodore's is a great neighborhood bar with a relaxed Blues atmosphere, plenty of sports on the TVs and the best BBQ at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theodore's also viewed

 

Been to Theodore's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Theodore's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.