We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BLUES 'N BBQ's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Theodore's

Theodore's
201 Worthington St, Springfield, MA 01103
(413) 736-6000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 294 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“BLUES 'N BBQ's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

If you love blues music and BBQ type foods, then this is the place for you. They have both booth and table seating, eating/drinking and 'live' band area is pretty large

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    43
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rumson, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Theo's blues and and Barbeque rocks our World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I have been twice and had a great meal both times.The Barbeque ribs wet were perfect,They were fall off the bone tender and the sauce was great. The cornbread was excellent ,the greens were the best you will find north of the mason Dixon line.The second night I had the beef brisket and it was outstanding.Slow cooked it was to die for.
We went back two days in a row. As it was so good.The corn fritter appetizers were excellent and it was just as good as the first night.
Our server was friendly and explained the various smoke methods used in preparation .
I have lived and traveled. All over the South and find good Barbeque hard to find in the NorthEast and This place is one of the best I have found.As a musician in a blues band I have eaten lots of Barbeque and. Tis place is a refreshing change for what passess for Barbeque Orth of the mason dixon line.
If you are in Sprinfield this place is a must see.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whippany, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great barbeque restaurant in downtown springfield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a great restaurant if you love great good, great fun and a lot of blues music. The hostesses were nice enough to accommodate our party after a hockey game and our changing numbers. The free popcorn was great, the ribs were fall off the none awesome. The chicken and sausage etoufee was great and spicy. The fried pickles were the best we have ever had. The prices are very fair and the beer is nice and cold. Would do again in a minute when visiting.Springfield.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Holy Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Was in town for a conference, and was wowed for the second time by this unpretentious bbq blues bar/restaurant. I dont even know what I liked better ... the rack of babyback ribs smothered in bourbon bbq sauce; the superb sides of warm cornbread, coleslaw, baked beans and slightly spicy and lemony collard greens; the refreshing beer on tap; or the wonderful, friendly and speedy service.

I could say that the chairs aren't super comfy (especially the bar stools) for long durations ... but we were served so fast, and by the time the food came we were so focused on the flavours ... that the stiff chairs seemed just fine. We were in and out of there within 90 minutes on a Friday night at 7 pm.

So when you go, eat some BBQ and prepare for your tastebuds to light up!

PS. Husband had the dry rub trible rib combo, and he found the ribs to be overcooked and dry. So be warned, and go for the bbq sauce version.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Visited here on a quiet Sunday evening after spending the afternoon at the Springfield Museums (less than a mile away). I ordered the burnt ends and collards, boyfriend hot wings and mac n' cheese. We both really enjoyed our meals. Burnt ends were melt in your mouth delicious. We also ordered a yummy slice of peanut butter fudge pie and walked out under $35 (including tax and 20% tip), which was awesome!
The wait staff was attentive and friendly, and the atmosphere was laid back and enjoyable.
This was an all-around great experience. I wish I lived closer so I could make this a favorite spot!
Note: If visiting on a Sunday, restaurant does not open until 4PM.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theodore's also viewed

 

Been to Theodore's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Theodore's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.