We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leave after the soup” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Saigon Restaurant

Pho Saigon Restaurant
398 Dickinson St, Springfield, MA 01108
(413) 781-4488
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 316 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations
west springfield, ma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Leave after the soup”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

First time visiting Pho Saigon. It was a place I had wanted to go to for a while and finally got the opportunity based on my families inability to choose a restaurant. Executive decision: Pho Saigon, and off we went. Soups were terrific. The escargot especially. Like really good. Then the plane crashed into the mountain. Soft shell crab was terrible. I've has better fried clam strips at a cheap carnival. The service was great, the people were nice, but the crab, not so much. Also, by 7:45, we were one of the only people in the place and it was a Friday night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    7
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

A springfield gem for sure. Great atmosphere. Soups are fantastic. Don't let the tendon scare you. Challenge your buddy to a sriracha sauce competition.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield.ma
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“"WOW THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT,GREAT SERVICE REASONABLE PRICES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our first visit to this restaurant.We went with our neighbors who have been going there for years. My wife and I never had Vietnamese food it was outstanding.The food was outstanding .We had two appetizers spring rolls and rolled up steak which was outstanding . Then we shared a soup which was a meal in itself.We also interacted with Mae ,whom our friends knew. I think she was a chef ,she was a delight and we had fun interacting with her. She teased our friend David about trying something new,because for years he always orders the same thing.If you want great different style cuisine you should try this place. Pho Saigon great atmosphere,excellent service,outstanding food and reasonable prices . I give it two thumbs up and we will be regular patrons since we found this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield,MA,USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Flavorful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This restaurant is a real gem. This is my families favorite Springfield restaurant. Better tasting food than I have experienced in Vietnam itself. Great value in a comfortable warm atmosphere and a great value. The service is very fast and friendly. The Happy pancake #52 is the best tho deep fried noodle dishes and soup are wonderful- Don't forget the Vietnamese coffee too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Flavor, the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

A delightful alternative to the 3,000 Italian restaurants in the area. Flavor is the best word to use to describe Pho Saigon. You get it in every dish they serve. Soups, entrees everything. Soups are huge, enough to share. So you will likely take some home with you.

Get there early if plan a visit on a weekend.

Oh yeah, reasonable prices too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Saigon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pho Saigon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Saigon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.