We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent college” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Springfield College

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Springfield College
263 Alden St., Springfield, MA 01109
413-748-3000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 activities in Springfield
Type: Educational Sites
Attraction Details
Springfield
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“excellent college”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This place is excellent. They have a program for inner city youths called the partners program that my son has gone to for four years and they help him with his homework and take him on numerous trips to parks, swimming events, dance events, and survival training. Other than that this is a clean and well protected (with alot of security) school. The college students are very friendly and helpful and the staff are the same. The inventor of Basketball , Mr. Naismith evented basketball at this college and they have a statue to honor him in the middle of the college. The Volleyball team just won the championship this year 2012.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Visit with daughter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Spent the weekend visiting my daughter who attends Springfield College

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ALUMNI of... Mind, Body & Spirit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

What can I say. I had the opportunity to go to college. I PICKED SC! Why... because they gave me the tools to apply what I felt in my heart.. an educational setting that incorporates the total being ~ hence the motto MIND, BODY & SPIRIT!
GO SPRINGFIELD COLLEGE!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“The birthplace of basketball & an idyllic, lakeside campus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Springfield College is most famous as the birth-institution of the world's most 2nd popular sport: basketball.

James Naismith invented basketball in 1891, while working for Springfield College (then called the International YMCA Training School, and later International YMCA College,) before the college's current campus had been constructed.

Springfield College is nationally renowned for its academic programs, and features distinctive architecture, based on Isaac Eddy Brown's influential "YMCA architecture" -- a mixture of various styles popular at the time, including Neo-Gothic and Renaissance Revival. The campus itself borders scenic Lake Massasoit (historically called Watershops Pond,) and features scenic views.

In 2011, portions of Springfield College were destroyed by the 2011 Springfield Tornado; however, to many peoples' astonishment, Springfield College rebuilt what destroyed -- and estimated to take three years to rebuild -- in less than three weeks.

Springfield College has a very pretty--and unique-looking--campus, and its history is certainly worth checking out.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Springfield College also viewed

 

Been to Springfield College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springfield College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Springfield College to your Saves list