We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love Dr.Seuss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dr. Seuss National Memorial Sculpture Garden

Dr. Seuss National Memorial Sculpture Garden
220 State Street, Springfield, MA
413-263-6800
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 Attractions in Springfield
Type: Art Galleries, Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bring the kids to this outdoor sculpture garden where the Cat in the Hat, the Grinch and other beloved Dr. Seuss characters are immortalized in bronze, life-size statues all designed by Geisel's step-daughter, sculptor Lark Grey Dimond-Cates.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“If you love Dr.Seuss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a definite site to visit. The sculptures are wonderful. A great tribute to a great author. If you his stories, the sculpture characters will all be familiar to you.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    33
    18
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sculpture garden is free!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stopped here on a July day on our way to Boston from NYC. I was surprised to find that you can walk through all the great Dr. Seuss sculptures for free! Admission is only charged to go inside the museums. It was starting to rain when we got there, so we decided to tour the museums as well. These were quite disappointing. The only one we really enjoyed was the one with the historical displays of Dr. Seuss's life. This was fascinating, particularly how various sites in Springfield may have been incorporated into drawings in his books.

We loved all the sculptures outside. The only disappointment was that we never found the geocache hidden near Yertle the Turtle. But that's another forum....

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Neat place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was a really cool place! The statues and mazes were amazing. This was also part of many different museums, which I did not know. The science, art and butterfly museum were also very interesting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun Sculptures”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Nice to walk around and see the sculptures while we were visiting the Museums at the Quadrangle. Kids enjoy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Visit if you are there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Worth visiting if you are there but I wouldn't travel there just to see it. Was hoping for a little more but we did visit the other museums

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dr. Seuss National Memorial Sculpture Garden also viewed

 

Been to Dr. Seuss National Memorial Sculpture Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dr. Seuss National Memorial Sculpture Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.