We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musty, Moldy, and No Internet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Westmark Sitka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Westmark Sitka Hotel to your Saves list
Westmark Sitka Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Seward Street, Sitka, AK 99835   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sitka
Valdez, Alaska
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Musty, Moldy, and No Internet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The Sitka Westmark wasn't terrible, but it was pretty close. The room I stayed in was on the top floor and would have had a great view, if I had been able to see out the windows. The room had a musty, moldy smell- the carpet being the culprit. My co-workers and I were on a business trip and had zero access to WiFi the entire time; the hotel kept calling in technicians to work on the antenna, but to no avail. The icing on the cake - the staph infection (and hospital bill) I developed after scraping my shin on the bed frame!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    35
    8
    11
See reviews for
9
22
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
evergreen, colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

A group of business associates gathered in Sitka for a group fishing trip. We stayed at the hotel for 5 days and the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and comfortable but could be updated. The location is great...overlooks the harbor and close to local attractions. Would recommend the suites overlooking the harbor. The staff even gave my husband and I a bottle of wine and a plate of cheese upon arrival when they found out it was our anniversary!

Room Tip: try to ask for a second floor suite upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Va
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Very adequate nice hotel in Sitka, which you much appreciate, is in the middle of nowhere.
Found everything about the hotel to be adequate, which is not always available in the remote areas of Alaska. Do not understand prior poor reviews of this hotel, unless prior reviewers were expecting 5 star services and amenities in the Alaskan outback.

Hotel food was ok, would look for a better alternative in town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I had a reservation, yet never stayed and ended up going elsewhere -This was ridiculous, I had great expectations, however the room they gave me looked at a subway rest., so I asked to be moved to have a view as this was my first time here, then got a room that "felt" dirty, had stained lamp shades, and a bug crawling up the wall, was moved again to a room that was smaller, overlooked a rooftop, had no a/c, and no screens on the windows yet birds were outside, so you could not leave ur windows open. I had enough, demanded a refund and went elsewhere. VERY DISAPPOINTED in what is supposed to be "Sitka rated cream of the crop"! Don't waste your time.......To top it off, the staff acted like they were inconvenienced...

Room Tip: go to another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Breakfast took 1 hour 15 minutes and would have take longer had we not hustled the waiter. Poor ventalation in our room. Only one switch in bathroom controling light and noisie fan. Could not brush my teeth with our waking wife. Bathroom sink stopper non-functioning. Van scheduled to meet us at airport departed before luggage arrived to take airline crew to hotel. Luggage arrive promptly, so we had to wait another 15 minutes for the van to return. Recommendation, if you must stay there, do it, but under no circumstances even consider eating there. There are two good restaurents accross the street.

Room Tip: Do not eat at the Sitka Westmark
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This was ridiculous, I had a reservation and had great expectations, however the room they gave me looked at a subway rest., so I asked to be moved, then got a room that felt dirty, had stained lamp shades, and a bug crawling up the wall, was moved again to a room that was smaller, overlooked a rooftop, had no a/c, and no screens on the windows yet seagulls outside, so you could not leave ur windows open. I had enough, demanded a refund and went elsewhere. VERY DISAPPOINTED in what is supposed to be "Sitka rated cream of the crop"! Don't waste your time.......To top it off the staff acted like they were inconvenienced.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Spent two nights here after arrving via the AMHS ferry and before our flight home. No shuttle from the Alaska ferry but got a (hair-raising) ride into town via the tribe's shuttle. Hotel check-in was smooth and efficient. Staff were very friendly. We had asked for a water view room and got an excellent one on the 5th floor. great view of the harbor. Room was immaculate, if slightly small. A small table and 2 chairs near the window and one easy chair next to the bed. Big ol' plasma screen tv on the wall. No mini-fridge. No King0-sized beds in the hotel but our Queen was very comfortable with excellent selection of pillows and nice linens. No idea what the guy is talking about aboout "gym reject" towels. Ours were fluffy and nice. Shower was had excellent water pressure and great spray.
Neighborhood is somewhat noisy. Hotel is situated next to Sitka's one and only stop light so there is some traffic noise. Also waterview rooms overlook the back of the restaurant (and a movie theatre) so there is late night clean-up noise. But close the windows and you don't hear much of it. Easy to walk everywhere, to restaurants, the Russian Orthodox church or other local shops. Hotel is one block from the marina where many of the cruise ships off-load their passengers and so it's easy to catch a shuttle to and from the eagle or bear centers, dance performances or wildlife cruises.
Had breakfast in the hotel dining room both mornings. Very good food and delightfully personable wait staff.
Upon departure, airport shuttle was exactly as expected. Driver was friendly and helpful. Would happily stay here again. Noticed that the major airline serving the area puts up its flight crews at this hotel. Given the number of other options available to them, that seems like a good recommendation.

Room Tip: Rooms on water side are noiser than non-water side. But no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westmark Sitka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Sitka Hotel

Address: 330 Seward Street, Sitka, AK 99835
Location: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sitka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Sitka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Westmark Sitka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Hotel Sitka
Westmark Sitka Hotel Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westmark Sitka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.