We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otter's Cove Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sitka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Otter's Cove Bed & Breakfast
3211 Halibut Point Road, Sitka, AK 99835   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Sitka B&B and Inns
Greeley, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

On our recent trip to the Inside Passage of Alaska we were fortunate enough to find the Otter's Cove B&B. We spent two evenings there. Our hostess Cheryl was friendly, welcoming and helpful. Her home is gorgeous and sits on a beautiful cove - WITH otter's visiting regularly. A spectacular view of Mt. Edgecumbe. The hot tub felt so good after traveling for several days. Full use of kitchen and sitting area, large beautiful bedrooms and DELICIOUS breakfasts. I would highly recommend this to all Sitka travelers.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Eagle room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
43
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Medinah, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

the facilities are very comfortable and extremely clean. the breakfasts are outstanding. fruit in a bowl and full breakfast to follow. plenty of coffee and juice also. nice location also. right on the water with great views.

Room Tip: we had the room without the water view and it did not make the stay any less enjoyable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at this B&B for 3 days. Our first night we stayed in the queen room, without the view, and the next 2 days we stayed in the Whale room, which is the nicest since it's set apart from the other two. The backyard is better than the pictures. It's gorgeous. The hot tub is fantastic, we used it twice a day. The house was fully booked when we were there, but the other couples really respected each others privacy, and didn't jump in the hot tub at the same time. It was very easy to use and always ready to go. We watched sea otters and eagles daily from the back yard - so fantastic! The room was completely spotless and linens and towels very luxurious. I was shocked at this. My husband wouldn't stop talking about it. The only drawback is that it's a B&B, which I don't really like. At 7am, breakfast is served in the community kitchen, on the other side of the wall. So, whether or not you want to get up that early, you are up! This was the only negative, and everything else is so great that you don't really care. The last day we were there, Cheryl served it at 8 which was really nice. Laundry is free, and that is sooo nice. I left my bathing suit in my room and Cheryl went to the ferry to give it back to me! I couldn't believe it. I would love to stay at this property again. She really should charge more!

Room Tip: choose the whale room for the most privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA and Bonn, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights at the beginning of our Alaska trip. This is one of the very nicest B&Bs I have ever stayed in. Cheryl has thought of everything, even top rate laundry facilities. The location is on a beautiful bay, a perfect place to watch the sun set and enjoy the fire pit. The house is a couple of miles out of town, but this is a plus not a minus. You do not need a car in Sitka. The local taxi service is transportation, a tour guide, a cultural experience, and a fun way to meet some locals, all in a rolling van. We loved Sitka, and staying at Otter's Cove was a great experience!

Room Tip: The two rooms on the back have the bay views, but we had the third bedroom without the views, and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights in the Bear Room. View from the room and outside is fantastic. Right on the water. Although we didn't make use of it, there is a full kitchen to cook your own meals and a gas grill outside. Breakfast was nice with a cooked entree each morning. Make sure to ask for straight coffee if you want it, as Cheryl defaults to serving flavored coffees. Rooms were immaculate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was our first trip (of what we hope will be many more) to Sitka. Otter's Cove was as comfortable as our own home, and it was hard to leave. Cheryl was a very gracious host, who surprised us each morning with a beautiful, filling breakfast and all the coffee we could manage.

The patio was a delight to cook our own dinners and watch the amazing sunsets over the water as the Pinks were jumping for joy at just being alive!

Bonus was the washer/dryer, we could have left half our clothes home! Next time we'll pack lighter to bring home more fish!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a very well appointed B&B. Clean with numerous amenities. The views are outstanding. We did not get to experience a full breakfast as we had to leave too early to catch a flight. But our hostess went out of her way to prepare a great continental breakfast for us early in the morning. We would go back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Otter's Cove Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otter's Cove Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3211 Halibut Point Road, Sitka, AK 99835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Sitka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Privacy Of A Hotel With The Comforts Of Home, This Water Front B&B Has Three Completely Private Rooms, King And Queen Beds, Full Common Kitchen And Lounge, Open Year Round, Kids Welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Otter's Cove Bed & Breakfast Sitka, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otter's Cove Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Otter's Cove Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list