We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pioneer Bar

The Pioneer Bar
212 Katlian Street, Sitka, AK
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 34 Restaurants in Sitka
Restaurant details
Mokelumne Hill, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stopped by and enjoyed a beer. It a great local spot. You will some interesting stories and wonderful people.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“On your way to Ludvig's bistrot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

gat place to stop for a drink. If you speak Alaskan of course, as this is THE place for locals to have a beer (or 2, or 5) and watch ESPN and comment loud on whatever. Friendly atmosphere, decent prices.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Local Color, Good Drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A traditional local hangout, this is a great place to get a feel of how Alaska really is when the tourists aren't around. A working person's bar with good drinks, good service and good prices, it doesn't take many visits for the staff to recognize you and know what you need.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard,NC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Just like the portrayal on Discovery Channel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The "P" Bar is well known by the locals and, in fact we only went
with 2 young young men with whom we were lodging for the week
on one of the islands. Rough around the edges but good guys.
Wife and I only nursed a beer each while they and our other friends
Played pool. Photos of the fishing and crabbing industry hanging on wall added to the color. Since it was a Sat night and the perimeter of my comfort zone was already crossed, we left about
7:30 pm. We were told that 8 pm and later was a lot more exciting.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fishermen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This place makes some strong drinks!! The fish and chips were really good here. There is all these great old photos of boats all over the walls. This is a good place to come hang out after a fishing trip.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pioneer Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Pioneer Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pioneer Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.