We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Dinner and Great View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van Winkle and Sons

Van Winkle and Sons
205 Harbor Dr, Sitka, AK 99835-7552
907-747-7653
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 34 Restaurants in Sitka
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Dinner and Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Near the water and has lots of windows, so the view is nice from the restaurant. A varied menu with very good food and lots of great fish options. We had wonderful halibut!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    7
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Food good overall, service disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Our group of five tried several different things on menu and no one was disappointed. Highlights included rockfish and saute (rockfish, scallops, shrimp). There was a fairly good crowd while we were there and only two servers so that was not so great. Appetizer came towards end of meal (onion rings for desert not our intention!) and table was fairly crowded for the size of our group (even though we had called for reservations well in advance). Overall experience was not one that lended itself to return visit which is too bad given dining options in Sitka are somewhat limited.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice Change from the cruise food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We were tired of the some old buffet on the cruise ship and decided to stop in here for lunch. We found the service and food very good. I'd recommend it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Sometimes very good, usually not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This place has been for sale for the last three years, and Although they have very good service, the kitchen is very uneven. As you might expect, minimum wage cooks just follow the recipes. On the other hand, the ambience if very good. A good chef should buy it and come here to go fishing!!! The nenu is rather strange, and if you like fish, go with the standards.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Tasty and great view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had read mixed reviews on this place, and had contradictory opinions from locals, so it was with some trepidation that I ate dinner here. I had a perfectly tasty rockfish, and my dinner companions enjoyed their meals as well. We had none of the service problems that others had mentioned.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Winkle and Sons also viewed

 

Been to Van Winkle and Sons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Winkle and Sons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.