We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Educational” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska Raptor Center

Alaska Raptor Center
1000 Raptor Way, P.O. Box 2984, Sitka, AK 99835
800-643-9425
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Attractions in Sitka
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Growing from a backyard, volunteer-run operation, the Alaska Raptor Center has become Alaska's foremost bald eagle hospital and educational center, as well as one of the state's premier visitor attractions.Each year, the Alaska Raptor Center provides medical treatment to 100-200 injured bald eagles and other birds. Our goal is to release our patients back into the wild; some, however, are injured so severely they could not survive in the wild even after rehabilitation. These birds may join our Raptors-in-Residence, providing excitement and education for more than 36,000 annual visitors and for the 15,000 schoolchildren we reach through the Adopt-A-Raptor program and Classroom Presentations around the country.The Alaska Raptor Center's 17-acre campus borders the Tongass National Forest, a temperate coastal rainforest, and the Indian River in Sitka, Alaska, and features award-winning natural habitats for our 19 Raptors-in-Residence.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I recently visited the Raptor Centre in Sitka, the staff are all very friendly and helpful.
We were treated to a talk with a live Bald Eagle called Volta, who was injured when he flew into Electric wires. We also saw an Eagle being released into the wild. The gift shop is great.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    51
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Niceville, Florida
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Cause!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you are in average or better health, it is an easy walk from the dock to the Raptor Center. This was our favorite place in Sitka. Admission is $12 per person, and they have done an excellent job with the facility. You will see raptors is special cages, a presentation with live eagles, and there are two easy trails to walk. One goes down to the stream where the salmon were still running, the other (a boardwalk) goes through a bog. Both were pleasant walks. We did notice that some of the people who came in tour groups did not have enough time to see all the raptors and take the walks after the live presentation. They were rushed back to their bus. Too bad. The admission fee is definitely used for a wonderful cause!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbank, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“DO NOT MISS THIS !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a troooleeee incredible place ! Raptors of all types are taken in with all sorts of injuries - diagnosed - "fixed" - nursed back to health - given physical therapy until they are ready to be released back into nature (unless their injury/ies are disabling).

The video & live presentation are superb - and the staff is sooo vereee knowledgeable - friendly & informative !

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Support the Center, well worth the visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We took a tour, beautiful birds and great program but felt rushed thru first part due to another tour arriving within a few minutes. Instead take the shuttle to the Fortress of the Bear. Afterwards Driver will drop people (at their request) at the Raptor center or Sitka Totem Park when returning passengers to Sitka.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Raptor Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

As Raptor Centers go... (and we've seen quite a few)... this one is superb, plus it has the best and biggest flight pen we've ever seen. Definitely worth seeing, and their grounds and location by the river is absolutely gorgeous.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alaska Raptor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska Raptor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.