We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely walks and fun facts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sitka National Historic Park/Totem Park

Sitka National Historic Park/Totem Park
103 Monastery Street, Sitka, AK 99835
907-747-0110
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$206*
and up
Sitka Super Saver: Whale-Watching Cruise and City...
Ranked #2 of 12 Attractions in Sitka
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Walking
Attraction details
Juneau, Alaska
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Lovely walks and fun facts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The visitors center at the totem park is great. It offers a brief video on how Sitka came to be from 3 different perspectives and a small exhibit hall. The real star though are the extensive trails around the park with associate totem poles. Excellent walk in cool shade on sunny afternoons, nice and protected from the rain on drizzly days. Defitely worth a look in at.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    80
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stretch legs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We arrived by ship, so we were looking for a place to stretch our legs. The National Park had miles of easy paths in the forest and along the shore. Historic totem poles dotted the pathway, and there was a guided tour available. We wished we had brought our jogging shoes, as it would be a nice place for a jog while on a cruise (and there were several locals there running as well).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A nice walk through history most have no knowledge of.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Liked the walk, the reader boards describing the different totems, the historic battle site where the Tlingits defended their lands in 1804 , the marker placed by the Russians 200 years later honoring their people lost in the battle. Good trail, great views out to Bay and across to town. Downer, the huge old Sitka spruce that was felled by the Park Service as a "safety precaution". Unnecessary in this old logger's view.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Totems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great experience with knowledgeable guide who helped us better understand the meaning behind the totems and the culture of the various Alaskan clans. The interpretive dancing was lovely and very impressive since it included all ages....from totters to the elderly. I was touched with the importance the clans demonstrated in passing on their culture to all children. Very friendly people all along the route. I loved seeing the demonstration of craving a totem.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Interesting stop in Sitka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I liked just browsing through their center and seeing the various totem poles. We went via taxi, with a driver named "Mary" and she gave us the tour of the area and that added immeasurably to our trip. The 12 minute film was interesting and worth seeing too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sitka National Historic Park/Totem Park also viewed

 

Been to Sitka National Historic Park/Totem Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sitka National Historic Park/Totem Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.