We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this spectacular place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sitka National Historic Park/Totem Park

Sitka National Historic Park/Totem Park
103 Monastery Street, Sitka, AK 99835
907-747-0110
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$206*
and up
Sitka Super Saver: Whale-Watching Cruise and City...
Ranked #2 of 12 Attractions in Sitka
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Walking
Attraction details
Sycamore, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Don't miss this spectacular place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Whenever I am in Sitka visiting my daughter and her family, I always take a walk through Totem Park at least twice. It is a most beautiful, pristine and serene spot. I follow the paths through the forests and then detour down to one of the beaches to check in the pools for starfish, baby crabs or other creatures. While jogging, running, walking, pushing a baby stroller, one is among history. The Totems tell the story of the people who lived there long ago, and I always can sense their sprits. Totem Park is a special place, a place full of mystery and mystique, beauty and calmness

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    80
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“So interesting and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

There were so many totem poles; the art work is just fantastic. It was a nice walk through the parks seeing so many poles plus the trees and water. I highly recommend this.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikiski, Alaska, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“For a nice walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I used to play in this park as a young girl. Running through Indian River in a Summer. Watching the salmon head up to their spawning ground. Beachcombing. Admiring the Totems. Fascinated by the towering heights of the Sitka Spruce and Hemlock. Check out the displays inside and watch Master carvers and engravers.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka, Alaska
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“My favorite walk in Sitka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

When you come to Sitka do what we locals do, enjoy a walk in the park. There are good views back toward town and Mt. Edgecumbe. In August you can see Indian River wall to wall salmon. Then there are the totems. I like the fact that the culture is not frozen. There are modern poles along with the traditional ones. The park highlights a living culture vital to our town.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Great Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I visited here in September. There are all sorts of Totem Poles along the walk with historical information about the Indians and the Russians. I would recommend visiting this area at a different time of the year as the Salmon were dying in the river and the smell was unpleasant

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sitka National Historic Park/Totem Park also viewed

 

Been to Sitka National Historic Park/Totem Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sitka National Historic Park/Totem Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.