We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dock Shack

Dock Shack
201 Katlian, (In the Shee Atika Totem Square Inn), Sitka, AK
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 34 Restaurants in Sitka
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The have a small selection on their menu. My husband had the halibut fish and chips, which were very good. I chose the halibut tacos, one of which I didn't like at all and the other one was okay. They were both the same taco. The food is not consistent. The view is great. The serve was of disinterest. Not a cheap place to dine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    28
    19
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
az
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Tried this place shortly after it opened, and hadn't been back for a while. This time I was disappointed. The fish and chips were a small portion The fish coating was average. The fries not so good-not homemade. Tiny portion of coleslaw. The fish tacos were poor. They had shredded fish--not well flavored. The fried coconut covered shrimp were overcooked. Prices were high and I would expect much better food. Service was fine. Too bad the food isn't better. Won't be going back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermiston, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the better places in sitka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

PROS: best burger in sitka, onion rings are great. View is fabulous, there was a sea lion putting on a show. The music is modern. Multiple big screen TVs. Bartender Jason is attentive and has a desired memory. The appetizer potato skins could feed a small country. My friends loved their halibut & chips.
CONS: $5 shrimp (no fries) for $16... They are good but not that good. The seasonal staff isn't as attentive as the permanent staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Wa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Try the halibut taco combo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Easy going, service and view
Definitely try the Halibut tacos with the combo two pieced of battered Halibut.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great View and Awesome Mojitos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ate here a few times. They have good food - nothing too original. The chowder is too thick and too chunky. Burgers for under $10 with fries is a great deal. I did not try the outdoor seating; it was too cold and rainy.

The staff is very nice and very attentive.

They have the best Mojitos I have ever had!

And you can't beat the beautiful scenic view!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dock Shack also viewed

 

Been to Dock Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dock Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.