We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great management, great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
1321 Sawmill Creek Rd. Suite C, Sitka, AK 99835   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Sitka B&B and Inns
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great management, great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I just returned from four nights at the Eagle Bay Inn in early October. The manager, Vicki, made me and my fellow convention-goers so welcome and took great care of us. Her cheerful attitude and attention to every conceivable detail made this the perfect place to stay. The rooms were clean and well appointed. I was in a downstairs room off the lobby the first night, but Vicki graciously moved me upstairs for the rest of my stay, where things are a bit quieter. She and her staff turned themselves inside out to make our stay great and now I feel like I have a sweet little step mom in Sitka. :)

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room - they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny B, General Manager at Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the feedback, we're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! :)

-Ronny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
11
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We very happy with our stay at the Eagle Bay Inn! Yes, it is one mile from town but not that much of an inconvenience. Vicky is just WONDERFUL as is the gentleman on night shift!! The rooms are clean, the soaps and shampoos are quality product, not the cheap stuff. We had fresh fruit for breakfast, smoked salmon and some homemade bread. Management has changed and the carpets are very clean, the staff was friendly and I cant think of anything bad to say about our visit here, which was a long one! A big thank you to Vicky and her staff! If ever we are in sitka again, we wil stay here! Thanks again, John & Karen...and Pearl.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

There are not an abundance of accommodations in Sitka, especially if you cannot book well in advance. We were pleased that we were able to get into the Eagle Bay for our one night stay. It is not really walking distance from the center of town.( It's no more than a 5 minute drive.) However, the staff was wonderful in transporting us as needed. Kimberly, the house manager met us at promptly at 9 a.m. exactly where our our small cruise boat disgorged us, picked up our baggage and set a mutually agreed upon time to pick us up so we could have the day to explore Sitka. Tonya picked us up promptly at the appointed time, immediately checked us into to our waiting rooms, with baggage already deposited. When a recommended restaurant was not available, Tonya suggested an alternative, asked what time we wanted to go, made the reservation and drove us there. The next morning Kimberly drove us to the airport. The room was clean and comfortable. I saw the carpet stains in the hall that another guest alluded to, but our room was spotless, the towels and bathroom supplies ( shampoo, body lotion etc) were generous.Don't be put off by the fact that the "inn" is actually located in a strip mall. It was good for a short stay.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel. They know what's best. Our room had a view of the Bay ( which is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Had booked two nights. After seeing our room tried to cancel both nights but they would only allow us to cancel one night. Carpets appeared dirty/stained. Highway noise was unbearable. Location was not within reasonable walking distance from restaurants etc.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The staff here is wonderful. Very accomodating. But the actual hotel leaves a bit to be desired. My biggest complaint was the window coverings were sheer and therefore I never got a good nights sleep as the sun was up until about 10:30pm and rose around 3 or 4. It made for a long tired trip.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We really enjoyed out stay at Eagle Bay Inn. The Inn's van was there waiting for us when we arrived at the airport. Most places were closed when we got there however Maria took us to a convenience store so we could pick up a few items.
The rooms where clean and neat and I loved the personal items they provided, particularity the bar soap.
The continental breakfast was fresh and tasty. Fruit was left out so you could snack thought the day. They gave much information about what sites to see and shuttled us to where we needed to go. Totem Park, the Raptor Center are both worth seeing. Many people enjoyed the Bear Fortress but since we have wild bear in our back yard at home we were not as impressed as everyone else. The short walk to own was beautiful, though a national Forest!! We walked home later at night and I thought that it may be difficult walking though the forest at night but we enjoyed the walk.
The area around the hotel was a combination of businesses and trainer homes but the water is on one side of the road and in a few minutes of walking you are in the forest. There is also a great drive-up walk-up espresso shop just across the street. There is a nice Mexican restaurant within the shopping center.

We would stay at Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn again, We would get a room that does not face the road.... while the view is nice the road sounds can wake you in the morning.
Thank you all the staff at Eagle Bay for a great time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie S, Manager at Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Linda, thank you for your kinds words! It is always such a boon to our staffs morale to hear a good report come from a guest. Here at The Eagle Bay Inn we work hard to make every guests stay something special and worth remembering and it sure feels good to know when we have! So thank you again and best wishes in life! we hope to see you again!
Kimberly- Manager

“May good luck be your friend in whatever you do and may trouble be always a stranger to you.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast, alaska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The owner tried pulling a bait and switch, saying we would be able to get one room at one price and then the next day, saying the price was almost double what was stated the night before. If you do call, please plan on being on the the phone for a very long time, as they tend to speak very slow, and always interrupt you while you are trying to answer,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie S, Manager at Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Once you have been in this business long enough, you find out that there are always going to be individuals that you will never be able to please. One thing that I pride myself and our staff on is being as friendly and helpful as possible. That being said I also expect our guests to treat myself and my staff with the same respect. This person is upset because she was REFUSED service and never set foot in our inn due to being extremely rude to staff. Our staff speaks at an accurate even rate because we want to be sure that your reservation and personal information is correct. When information is rattled off so quickly you cannot understand it, then yes, an interruption may be warranted. In regards to the accusation of bait and switch? This person called earlier that day and received a price quote from one of my staff, the quote was for one of our single bed rooms which is of course lower than our regular rooms. (Not double in price, but higher.) This person did not book at the time they received their quote and when they did call back the single room was already taken. So yes the price did change but not due to a bait and switch; the price changed due to availability of rooms. It always makes me a bit disappointed to receive a bad review because here at the Eagle Bay Inn we do our best to go out of our way to be helpful and kind. However, like I said before there are just some people who cannot be pleased. We are small and a bit out of the way if a mile outside of down town counts. We are also located in a business complex in between an industrial and residential side of town. But our rooms are clean, our staff is friendly and we do our best to accommodate, and that is all we can do. I hope that who ever reads these negative posts will also keep in mind that southeast Alaska is not like the lower 48. It is rustic, wild and a bit rough around the edges. But give us a chance and we will be warm, helpful, and do our best to help you enjoy this beautiful place we call home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn

Address: 1321 Sawmill Creek Rd. Suite C, Sitka, AK 99835
Location: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Sitka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New! Quiet, comfortable, affordable. Two queen beds in every room. Free WIFI, cable with HBO and local phone. Perfect for business travel, family, and for those who love a quiet place to stay. The Beach is right across the street, close to Verstovia Mountain,and its hiking trail. Recently under new Management!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.