We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate Sitka experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esther G Sea Tours and Taxi

Esther G Sea Tours and Taxi
215 Shotgun Alley, Sitka, AK 99835
9077476481
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 27 Activities in Sitka
Attraction details
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The ultimate Sitka experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This is the way to see Sitka & the surrounding area. The kids will love seeing whales, bears, eagles, etc. The views were amazing, & Capt. Davey Lubin is the best guide! A must-do while visiting Sitka...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
1 review
“The most intimate way to see Sitka, Alaska”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We first heard about Esther G through our travel agent who specializes in shore excursions. This was one of our most memorable tours we have ever taken. We enjoyed it so much, we took another cruise that stopped in Sitka just to relive the transcendent experience once again. What makes this tour so special above the rest was Captain Davey's expertise, warmth and genuine love and respect for the environment and wildlife. Choosing the Esther G allowed us to get an up close and personal experience with sea otters, sea lions, whales, bald eagles and breath-taking scenery. We saw lots of big tour boats with lots of crowds and just felt so fortunately to be on a vessel that accommodated our smaller group for the same cost. I have never met a tour operator who's passion was so apparent. We plan to return again and again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McFarland, Wisconsin
1 review
“5 stars is not enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We visited Sitka in 2012 and since we had never been there before I looked up what to do in Sitka. I read several reviews that said "You have to take a whale tour with Captain Davey on the Esther G Sea Tours" So I decided to book with him. It was such an awesome trip, he made sure everyone was comfortable, he was very knowledgeable about the area and wildlife. He is very personable but at the same time he makes sure all safety measures are in place. It was an incredible day and the day ended far too soon.
This summer I had the privilege of doing another cruise that stopped in the Port of Sitka again. I was thrilled to be able to book another tour with Davey. I was with a different group of people and as with my first experience with him he made everyone feel comfortable and again a terrific day was had by all.
My opening statement of reading You have to book with Captain Davey on the Esther G Sea Tours was proven to be an understatement. If you ever have the chance to go out with Davey on the Esther G Sea Tours you will not be disappointed. I have been very fortunate to be able to book with Davey and also gain a new friend. Kudos to Captain Davey!!!! Catherine Krebs

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Highlight of Our Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Sitka has become our favorite port of call and the main reason is Davey Lubin and his incredible tour of Sitka sound and its environs. His love and passion for his community is evident as he passionately describes why Sitka is rated one of the best towns in all of Alaska. Our morning started heading 20 miles out to the open waters where we spotted whales and otters in the kelp beds. Followed by cruising along Kruzof Island to see bald eagles and deer followed by a coast along Lazaria Island to see more nature. As we headed back into town we stopped off a pirates cove for a great view of Sitka and more nature.

Truly an amazing experience and hosted by a great guide. Well worth the money!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An amazing day on Sitka Sound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We spent a perfect morning with captain Davey Lubin on the Esther G 2 exploring wildlife in the waters off Sitka. Davey brought us close to an incredible array of creatures: hump back whales, sea otters, bald eagles, puffins, sea lions, harbor seals, porpoises, and more. Davey is a trained biologist who clearly loves to share his knowledge of the abundant animal life as well as his passion for Alaska. My family and I had one of the most enjoyable mornings of our lives on this tour, one that we will never forget. When it comes to exploring the richness of Alaska's water, it doesn't get any better than Davey Lubin's sea taxi.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esther G Sea Tours and Taxi also viewed

 

Been to Esther G Sea Tours and Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esther G Sea Tours and Taxi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.